Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 03:07 PM   #11
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

what about the questions I asked further up about resolution?

and if E5 works on this PC, then there is no need to retire it because E5 is very current and works well (unless you are not happy with E5)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:17 PM   #12
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
what about the questions I asked further up about resolution?

and if E5 works on this PC, then there is no need to retire it because E5 is very current and works well (unless you are not happy with E5)
Sorry I missed responding to that question.

I have checked the graphics card settings and it is at 32bit and the resolution is 1920x1080.

I also checked the error logs in the event viewer. The only error I found was each time I reboot there is an nvraid error because I used to have a RAID in the system a few years ago and the system wants to keep firing it up on boot. It has been this way for years. Otherwise the logs were all Information kind of things.
__________________
Main System. MSI G33m Motherboard, Intel Q6600 CPU, 2GB Ram, GeForce 9500GT, 7200rpm System drive. WinXP. Lots of external eSATA drives.

Laptop. Sony Vaio. CPU- i7-Gen 3, 8gb RAM, 1tbb 5400rpm hard drive, AMD GPU
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:37 PM   #13
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

that seems fine, I have no other idea at this stage other than using 5.51
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:57 PM   #14
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
that seems fine, I have no other idea at this stage other than using 5.51
Yea, I believe it's time to retire it for other duty. I'll donate it to my church and install 5.5 on it so we can edit video there if we ever want. We are still all SD there. It's plenty capable for that kind of duty. I have a new quad laptop on the way so my current laptop may become my render machine or use my current edit system to churn away on authoring and encoding since it's a Q6600 quad. The new laptop should fly even compared to the Q6600 and will probably become my primary edit system especially if I can run dual monitors with it.
__________________
Main System. MSI G33m Motherboard, Intel Q6600 CPU, 2GB Ram, GeForce 9500GT, 7200rpm System drive. WinXP. Lots of external eSATA drives.

Laptop. Sony Vaio. CPU- i7-Gen 3, 8gb RAM, 1tbb 5400rpm hard drive, AMD GPU
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:46 AM   #15
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Could you try to launch Edius as usual and while it's missing after you select your project change your screen resolution to something much lower and see if the edius windows comes back.

If you are running dual screen try to switch primary screen using the software settings, Edius normally will nag at you that it needs to restart due to resolution change, it might bring it back :)

As Anton mentioned if you like E5 you don't need to retire the system, I know mine 2 setups will have 5.51 on it for a long long time.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:54 AM   #16
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Philip
As the old machine is so old it could be the graphics card overlay
E5 can use Direct Draw but E6 is definately Direct3D9 and some of the old Nvidea cards had considerable problems with this
Just a thought
I have an old AMD X2 running 5.5 and works fine for the Grandkids to make their videos but have not tried 6 on it

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capturing HDV v6.0 & Title Motion Failure to load in v6.0 Bobinator Editing with EDIUS 10 02-10-2011 07:49 AM
Problem with installing HDSPARK VISTA 64bit i7Core Yan_Nirenberg Editing with EDIUS 2 07-07-2009 01:00 PM
Problem with installing Edius 4.54 haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 4 10-29-2008 05:47 PM
Installing demo problem jdroadie Editing with EDIUS 8 03-10-2008 03:51 PM
Problem with installing Edius Pro 4.6 Update Trax Editing with EDIUS 57 02-25-2008 09:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.