Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2018, 04:32 PM   #1
sanecrip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Default How to fast apply video filter in multicam?

I'm shooting classical concert with 3 or 4 camcorders.

Since those camcorders are not all the same model, I have to adjust color/exposure etc. in post.

In multicam mode , if I want to adjust video filter AFTER all cuts were done, since each track has been cutted into hundreds cilps, apply video filter takes several minutes, with the whole computer not responding.

Is there any way to adjust the whole track (i.e. clip from each camcorder itself) with one setting (primary color / 3-way color) applied to whole track, AFTER multicam all cutted done, and fast?
sanecrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 12:45 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,200
Default

I usually match the cameras before I start cutting

if you do it after, exit multicam and then select a track header of a camera that needs correcting and press Ctrl+A to select all clips on that track, drag the user filter preset you made for fixing this camera

then do the same with the next track
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 02:26 AM   #3
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

I just Ctrl A on a track to highlight the whole track and drop a filter on it. Do this before you compress to a single track.
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 05:22 AM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,018
Default

Yes this is what I do too. Be careful that if you do the adjustment on a clip to save the preset you remove this from that clip before applying to the whole track or that particular clip may have two instances of the filter. I never compress to single track in my multicam as I only have cuts so no need for other transition effects that a compressed track allows for.

Also run multicam with filters OFF as this makes multicam run a lot faster. Every few minutes of editing I go back and run what I have edited to see how it looks and of course the filters are then applied. If I do not like the setting I save a project under new name reset the filter that I do not like, save a new filter name, use select track, CTRL+ALT+F to remove all filters then CTRL +A and set the new filter. After about 10 mins of editing I usually have them all set !!! I have a range of cameras too. NX5U AVCHD 60i, GH5 UHD60P, GH5S UHD60P, AX100 HD 60P, AX53 HD60P and occasionally a CX550 AVCHD HD60P. So a mix of old and new tech and specs !!!

Usually save the project with new names frequently too that way if I really mess up I have lots to go back to !!!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 11:40 AM   #5
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,318
Default

Adding to the wise info above, I would add that as well as matching all cameras at the start, on musical shows with different lighting sets for each number, utilising the wav file I mark the start of all numbers and then check again as different lighting may have a different effect on individual cameras, including their position, particularly where LED and Tungsten lighting is mixed.

Last edited by DigitalDave; 04-11-2018 at 06:30 PM. Reason: I hate seeing my typos!
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 02:25 PM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,018
Default

Excellent Dave. Yes I forgot to mention the issue of LED lighting. I no longer WB for my theatre shoots just use the indoor preset on all cameras as WB can change scene by scene or even across a scene. I still try and get them close in the first 10 mins as I mentioned but after that it is by clip. Can be quite a big difference with the GH5 full stage and the AX100 closeup to an actors face.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fast apply video filter in multicam? cmusic_idv Editing with EDIUS 4 08-02-2017 05:46 PM
Apply Transition No Video Showing hapdigital Editing with EDIUS 2 04-12-2014 11:13 PM
How do i apply filter to clip after multi-cam mode? nostalgia Editing with EDIUS 7 06-18-2009 04:27 AM
How do you actually APPLY an audio filter? skybrady Editing with EDIUS 4 10-30-2008 11:14 AM
Apply Fade on Region Filter pvideo Editing with EDIUS 5 01-23-2008 02:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.