Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2018, 10:20 AM   #11
Marc44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France - Nantes
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
simply export mpeg2 SD Elementary streams from EDIUS and then use in TAW6 (make sure EDIUS is switched to SD project preset with Lanczos3 HQ enabled and apply 12% sharpness filter prior to export)
Where is the sharpness filter applied?
On every clip on TL ?
If yes, it seems a long work for every film on DVD (13 for my 2 DVD).
I'm wondering if the BD/DVD conversion option in TMPGenc is not as good.

Marc
__________________
System : W7 Ultimate - MB: Asus Z170 - I7 6700K - Ram 16 Go - SSD1 256 Go (OS/log) - SSD2 1To (rushes) - HDD 4To (save) - Nvidia Asus GTX970 - HDspark - Edius WG 9 - Vistitle 2.6 - Robuskey - Mercalli4 - Neat video - Ignite - Hitfilm4Pro - AV : Eset Nod32 - Others : Moniteur Sony 32-EX500 - Cam : Sony EX1-R - 2 x Sony PXW-X70 - 1 x Pana GH5
Edius in France
Marc44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 12:23 PM   #12
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc44 View Post
If yes, it seems a long work for every film on DVD
Isn't that not just a matter of adding the sharpness filter to one clip, then select all other clips on your time line and drag/drop that sharpness filter to the remaining clips? That just takes a few seconds as you don't have to do this on a clip by clip basis.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 01:20 AM   #13
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc44 View Post
Where is the sharpness filter applied?
On every clip on TL ?
If yes, it seems a long work for every film on DVD (13 for my 2 DVD).
I'm wondering if the BD/DVD conversion option in TMPGenc is not as good.

Marc
here is how I do it
add a sharpness filter to one clip and set to 12%
in information panel, right click and save as Sharpness12
delete the fiter you added to one clip
select all clips on timeline, Shift+A and drag Sharpness12
Sharpness12 can be used for any future projects
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:41 AM   #14
Marc44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France - Nantes
Posts: 655
Default

OK, put a filter on x clips is easy, but there is more ...
I have to define a new SD project , export all films to SD streams + create a new authoring in TMPGENC, add keyframes for each films, save this work for the future, ...
If I correct a film in HD, I do work on 4 projects : Edius + TMPGEN / HD + SD.

By using BD/DVD conversion in TMPGENC , I keep one source project in HD and authoring in TMPGENC is easy (one source stream).

Marc
__________________
System : W7 Ultimate - MB: Asus Z170 - I7 6700K - Ram 16 Go - SSD1 256 Go (OS/log) - SSD2 1To (rushes) - HDD 4To (save) - Nvidia Asus GTX970 - HDspark - Edius WG 9 - Vistitle 2.6 - Robuskey - Mercalli4 - Neat video - Ignite - Hitfilm4Pro - AV : Eset Nod32 - Others : Moniteur Sony 32-EX500 - Cam : Sony EX1-R - 2 x Sony PXW-X70 - 1 x Pana GH5
Edius in France
Marc44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:51 AM   #15
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,342
Default

TMPEG does normally a good job downscaling with Lanczos3

so you can do the lot in TAW
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 04:29 PM   #16
Marc44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France - Nantes
Posts: 655
Default

in TA5, I dont see in Preferences if Lanczos3 is used in conversion BD/DVD.

Marc
__________________
System : W7 Ultimate - MB: Asus Z170 - I7 6700K - Ram 16 Go - SSD1 256 Go (OS/log) - SSD2 1To (rushes) - HDD 4To (save) - Nvidia Asus GTX970 - HDspark - Edius WG 9 - Vistitle 2.6 - Robuskey - Mercalli4 - Neat video - Ignite - Hitfilm4Pro - AV : Eset Nod32 - Others : Moniteur Sony 32-EX500 - Cam : Sony EX1-R - 2 x Sony PXW-X70 - 1 x Pana GH5
Edius in France
Marc44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 08:27 PM   #17
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,452
Default

This length project is right on the cusp of being too long for the mpeg-2 codec to look its best. Mpeg-4 will look great a little lower at 18,000mbps but it will take a lot longer to encode. I try to not go below 20,000 - 25,000mbps for mpeg-2.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 01:35 AM   #18
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc44 View Post
in TA5, I dont see in Preferences if Lanczos3 is used in conversion BD/DVD.

Marc
it could be that TAW5 does not use Lanczos3, I never tried since I only use it for Bly-ray and I use DVD-Lab Pro for DVD

in my case, if I need Blu-ray and DVD, I export twice from EDIUS, HD elementary streams and SD elementary streams by switching to SD and enabling Lanczos3 and applying 12% sharpness
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 03:31 PM   #19
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,059
Default

I produce DVD and BLuray for all my projects that are usually around or just over 2 hours some as long as 2 hour 40 mins. Project is 1920x1080 60i or if I need other outputs 60P and export a HQX file. I then encode for DVD in TMPGenc ( 4 or 6 ) and the Lancsos3 filter is set in the image scaling filters section. I author in DVDArchitect and take the elementary streams into that. With this approach I do not sharpen at all it is sharp enough. Set TMPGENC data rate by size scale to be about 92% of disc fill 2 pass VBR . Single pass at this length is not good enough and will lead to it not looking as sharp. For Bluray I use QS ( if I had a progressive HQX file would put in an interlace project to use QS for Bluray ) from the timeline and just change the properties in DVDArchitect and substitute the m2ts file to create the Bluray. At 2 hours QS encode can be close to 25Mbs average and 37M max VBR. for 2 hours 30 min rate of about 18-20Mbps VBR
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 MPPais EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 4 09-05-2013 11:22 PM
TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 MPPais EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 0 04-22-2012 03:35 AM
TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 dpalomaki EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 99 04-21-2012 11:10 AM
TMPGenc Authoring Works 4 atalay EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 3 07-19-2011 03:30 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.