Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2009, 02:37 PM   #1
Jokerham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default Capturing SECAM VHS

I am a newbie in this, so please do not criticize me for not knowing the actual terminology.

I have a SECAM video, and want to capture it using ADVC110

I have set the setting of the switch box as follows.

1 off
2 off
3 off
4 off
5 on
6 on

I get the image through DV out but it flashes.
I captured it any way, but the result is that I only get the frames that was not flashed out. (Which looks like I am looking at a fastforward clip.) What do you think is the problem here?

I really got in to pain to attain all necessary equipment to capture this Video, so please help me.
Jokerham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:11 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Make sure:
1. Your capture application is set to DV PAL mode
2. You have removed power completely from the ADVC after changing the DIP switch settings (it requires a power cycle to apply DIP switch settings)
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 01:56 PM   #3
Jokerham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default Thank you for the reply

I have done both things. But I still can't the correct output.
Please help.
Jokerham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 07:10 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Are you using a SECAM VTR to play the SECAM tape?

It's important that tape and playback device match.

How does the playback from the VTR look when connected to a television?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 12:41 AM   #5
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,141
Default

I would add that because the playback on the TV looks good it is not an indication that a standard signal is being sent- i.e. 4.43 playback of NTSC on PAL TVs. If there are NTSC decks that do that in reverse then, Good picture but Hybrid signal. It has to be Secam.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 12:48 AM   #6
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Sounds silly, but stranger things have happened in the past... so adding it in just in case.

Double-check that the VTR output is connected to the ADVC110's input, and not reversed somewhere.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 03:43 AM   #7
Jokerham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default Thanks guys...

I have a multi-player which can play PAL-SECAM-NTSC.
So there should be no problem.
When I connect directly to the TV(NTSC), I get a clean picture in B/W.
But when I connect to the Video, I get a color picture with flashes,
where on TV I get B/W picture with flashes.

I am not certain but it looks like the device is taking too much time
converting that it can not follow the real time stream.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

I have tested with NTSC input, but in that case, there was not much problem.
Has anyone succeed in converting SECAM VHS?
Jokerham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 05:51 PM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

It is odd that you are getting a clean black and white picture on an NTSC TV...
SECAM is closer to PAL than NTSC.

Does your player have an output format setting? If so, make sure it's set to NTSC. If not, we need to know what your player outputs.

For NTSC, the ADVC requires true NTSC 3.58, not PAL 60 (NTSC 4.43).

I am beginning to wonder if the recording on the tape is truly SECAM, if it is PAL on the tape (some VCRs can accept SECAM signals, but they are recorded as PAL on the tape), or if it might be something else.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VHS Capturing ADVC - Resolution Q acemedusa ADVC 8 08-08-2009 06:12 AM
Capturing from VHS with ADVC55,,what type of cord ?? gerryanders ADVC 3 09-18-2008 04:51 PM
Capturing from a VHS player to ADVC55 - HELP!!! Rich L ADVC 3 01-13-2008 12:56 PM
Does ADVC 300 convert from secam to DV-PAL? beevlad ADVC 1 06-23-2007 04:56 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.