Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2019, 08:07 AM   #1
Merlin2504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Neustadt an der Orla (Deutschland)
Posts: 14
Default ADVC 500 sound problems

I made 500 different test shots with the ADVC. It must be noted that the Canopus has problems with the sound.
Is that normal? Or does something have to be adjusted at the ADVC?

Player is always the Panasonic FS200

1. digitized with the advc 500
1. digitized with the Pinnacle Moviebox DV

Recordings see link. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3080mv6kv...XZyqXYVoa?dl=0

Greetings Klaus

Last edited by Merlin2504; 05-18-2019 at 05:52 PM.
Merlin2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 05:20 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin2504 View Post
I made 500 different test shots with the ADVC. It must be noted that the Canopus has problems with the sound.
Is that normal? Or does something have to be adjusted at the ADVC?

Player is always the Panasonic FS200

1. digitized with the advc 500
1. digitized with the Pinnacle Moviebox DV

Recordings see link. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3080mv6kvmxu ... XYVoa? dl = 0

Greetings Klaus
Klaus,

I don't have one of the ADVC-500, but I have used them before. They should not have a problem with the audio, and there really isn't much to change, aside from a few dip switches that set your video standard and locked or unlocked audio state, if i recall correctly. These switch settings can be found in the manual. If they are set to your video standard (PAL in your case) and preferably the locked audio state, it should work properly.

Other than that there was some proc amp/TBC control software, but that shouldn't change sound.

Your dropbox link is not working.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 05:52 PM   #3
Merlin2504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Neustadt an der Orla (Deutschland)
Posts: 14
Default

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3080mv6kv...XZyqXYVoa?dl=0
Merlin2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 09:04 AM   #4
Merlin2504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Neustadt an der Orla (Deutschland)
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for the answer.
I currently have 2 ADVC 500's here. One makes the worse sound and the other device is better.
My guess is that the two devices are set differently with the Picture Controller software. Unfortunately, I can not test this because Picture Controller only runs on the Apple Power PC or Win7. Have eschon tried with virtual environments. Since the Firewire interface is not supported.
If I had a chance to look at the transducers, it would be great. This does not work without Firewire.

Here again the link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3080mv6kv...XZyqXYVoa?dl=0
Merlin2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 01:31 AM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Based in those samples, and assuming that you are using the same VCR as a source, you have more problems than just the audio. The picture quality of the one from the ADVC-500 is a lot worse than the one from the Pinnacle Moviebox.

Normally the ADVC converters were very good. I still have an ADVC-110 myself, and have not had any issues with it, but the ADVC-500 is an older unit, originally released in 2003, making it up to 16 years old, so it is possible that the electronics are also aging, with capacitors possibly drying out and going off value.

The Pinnacle Moviebox is also a consumer device, where as the ADVC-500 was designed as more of a Prosumer/Professional device. Most consumer devices are a lot more forgiving with unstable video sources, while most professional devices would require a TBC to stabalize the video before digital conversion. That said, a TBC for a consumer device like the moviebox is a good idea too.

I used to edit with Pinnacle Liquid Pro, and have the big brother of the Moviebox that came with Liquid. The quality is good, but a TBC was required for unstable analog sources.

I can't say what might be set different via the ADVC software. As I said it has been a long time since I have seen an ADVC-500, and can't remember much about the software.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:12 AM   #6
Merlin2504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Neustadt an der Orla (Deutschland)
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Based in those samples, and assuming that you are using the same VCR as a source, you have more problems than just the audio. The picture quality of the one from the ADVC-500 is a lot worse than the one from the Pinnacle Moviebox.
How do you determine that the picture quality with the ADVC 500 is worse? I think the quality with the ADVC 500 is better than with the Pinnacle Box?
Merlin2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 03:24 AM   #7
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin2504 View Post
How do you determine that the picture quality with the ADVC 500 is worse? I think the quality with the ADVC 500 is better than with the Pinnacle Box?
It isn't better based on what I am seeing in the stream from your dropbox links.

There is a lot more block noise, macroblocking, blurring, etc. in the ADVC500 file you posted there.

The original may be better, but what you posted is an mpeg file, so it has been converted from the native DV25 that the ADVC produces.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 05-24-2019 at 04:33 AM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 07:35 AM   #8
Merlin2504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Neustadt an der Orla (Deutschland)
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
There is a lot more block noise, macroblocking, blurring, etc. in the ADVC500 file you posted there.
1. Personally, I find the picture fluctuations in Pinnacle in the rear of the yellow house worse? This has the Canopus ADVC box in my opinion better done.

2nd The noise I would like to look at the software Picture Controller me, because unfortunately I do not know the settings of the ADVC 500. It could be that the software was wrongly set by the previous owner.
Otherwise, the Elkos, etc. have already been checked, because I got two devices and the previous owner has cheated on Ebay. He claims in his description that he sells a device in top condition, little needed. And then came a device that was defective. The 2nd + 3rd device then worked. In all devices has already been repaired and soldered. This shows all that the Ebayer only deals with the devices and these were not in his first possession.
I'll probably look for a Canopus ADVC 110.

Greetings Klaus
Merlin2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 02:08 PM   #9
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin2504 View Post
1. Personally, I find the picture fluctuations in Pinnacle in the rear of the yellow house worse? This has the Canopus ADVC box in my opinion better done.

2nd The noise I would like to look at the software Picture Controller me, because unfortunately I do not know the settings of the ADVC 500. It could be that the software was wrongly set by the previous owner.
Otherwise, the Elkos, etc. have already been checked, because I got two devices and the previous owner has cheated on Ebay. He claims in his description that he sells a device in top condition, little needed. And then came a device that was defective. The 2nd + 3rd device then worked. In all devices has already been repaired and soldered. This shows all that the Ebayer only deals with the devices and these were not in his first possession.
I'll probably look for a Canopus ADVC 110.

Greetings Klaus
It is possible you have a defective or mis-adjusted device, but my point regarding the files you posted are still the same. ADVC500 outputs a DV25 stream, not an mpeg stream, but the file you posted was an mpeg file. My observations are based on the mpeg that you posted.

A good output shoud not introduce the blocking and blurring that I pointed out. I will agree that the ADVC one has less chroma shifting and related noise, but the ADVC one is loosing most of the detail due to this blocking and blurring.

The question is, what does the original DV25 stream look like, because the mpeg file you created is not a function of the ADVC. It is your export from software that makes this file. This makes it difficult to accurately judge what the ADVC is doing.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 06-03-2019 at 06:19 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canopus ADVC 500 problems with recording Merlin2504 ADVC 0 04-03-2019 10:31 AM
Sound Problems after capturing video using ADVC-300 plmahlik ADVC 21 06-01-2014 03:35 PM
ADVC-500 vs ADVC-300 Shlosser ADVC 2 07-12-2011 05:50 PM
ADVC 500 vs ADVC 110 Mats11 ADVC 1 01-23-2009 09:53 PM
ADVC-500 and Edius Pro print-to-tape problems chungkuo ADVC 2 08-01-2007 12:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.