Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2008, 05:18 AM   #1
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 981
Default HD Storm system specs

Now that some have used HD Storm in their system I wonder if there is developing a "best" configuration, motherboard, etc that seems to work wondefully with HDStorm and Edius5? Anyone have any specs to share?
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:18 AM   #2
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Only that the HD Storm had issues with the Asus P5K-E, it wouldn't work but works fine with the Asus P5Q Pro. Could be a P35/P45 chipset problem.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:45 PM   #3
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 981
Default

thanks for the info...any more out there?
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 01:53 PM   #4
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Oh! Early days yet but don't install HD Storm and uninstall it. We did this twice and both times had to reinstall Windows. This could be a driver issue or could be related to a particular motherboard but I suspect a registry problem on uninstall. It's been reported.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 04:33 PM   #5
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 981
Default

..I guess I would like to see a known complete system report from someone who was a long time beta tester of DVStorm or from Edius engineering, so at the least there are base systems known to be totally working (of course there'll be bugs). Those of us getting close to buying a new system are eager for helpful info on what works best with Storm HD.
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 04:45 AM   #6
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Tobe, I think the point is that despite all beta testing there is little chance of finding all the bugs until a product goes live. For instance, most of the beta testers here would have similar mobo's (GV qualified) and CPU's etc. The combination of software on a computer has a huge bearing on how a new or updated product will work.
The key is to get these (bug?) reports to GV as soon as possible so they can do the required modifications.
No one at this point will have a perfect system or even a strong recommendation until a number of updates are provided. This is absolutely normal with any hardware/software development.
If this phase is annoying then one should wait a month or two. This is one reason products may be discounted in the early release.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 05:51 AM   #7
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,238
Default P35 problems ? ? ? ?

Whoa guys ! ! ! Can we get some GV documentation or some further information on compatible motherboards or chipsets for HDSTORM? Near the beginning of the year, we built a new system around the much touted Asus P5K Delux/WiFi motherboard, which is working absolutely perfectly with EDIUS 4.x. However, if there's a problem with the P35 chipset onboard of this Mobo, as well as many others out there, if would obviously be to GV's advantage to let us know before purchasing the HDSTORM board and finding giant incompatibilities. This could raise a Storm in itself! Please.

Thanks, in advance, for all the feedback from you all.
Cheers,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:56 AM   #8
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Alan, don't assume a P35 problem yet - there was certainly a motherboard problem but it could have been one-off until it's bench tested. Replacing it with a P5Q Pro certainly resolved the issue but it could be any number of things including the P5K-E PCIe layout. We had the PCIe 9800GT in one slot, 3Ware Pcie Raid card in another plus the HD Storm PCIe.
Everything was transposed onto the P5Q Pro and worked like a dream but it's still not science yet.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 01:48 PM   #9
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

HI, I am logged on through my Iphone 3G at the moment as I am currently in hospital, (should be home in a day or two) anyway just reading the previous posts, the settings in the Bios could be wrong on the boards, i.e PCIe settings, Frequencies, ect, there is a lot of settings to change and to configure in the Bios if you know what you are doing, I really would be playing with Bios settings first before blaming boards.


Steve

P.S these Iphone 3G's are great, have a few full DVD'S on it to watch while in this place.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 03:56 PM   #10
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 981
Default

feel better...don't squint too much at the Iphone movies :-)
Tobe
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives

Last edited by Tobe; 10-23-2008 at 03:59 PM. Reason: typos
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Storm or HD Spark tony Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2008 11:55 AM
HD Storm cannot be installed on a news Win XP System istvan Editing with EDIUS 19 10-28-2008 04:35 PM
edius 4.6 and storm 2 hd editing foundy Editing with EDIUS 1 04-02-2008 05:19 PM
Help needed with Storm and Firewire Card in same system Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 17 03-07-2008 02:14 AM
GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 for HD editing ? zb21 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-08-2008 02:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.