Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Old 10-15-2019, 01:46 AM   #1
jerryr

Default How to view/edit a Canopus codec AVI file?

There isn't a forum this neatly fits into, so I apologize if I am posting this in the wrong place.

I have a bunch of AVI files acquired using a DVStorm card (with the Storm Video app), so they use the Canopus DV codec. I'd like to be able to view/edit them on a Windows 10 computer. I tried installing the Grass Valley Playback Codecs Pack (v6.02) to no avail. Windows still does not recognize the codec and I also tried loading them in some free NLE software but they would not display. I don't have a recent version Edius (I do have version 1.5 on the ancient Win XP computer the AVI files were originally acquired on, but that doesn't do me much good) and since I'm not a professional, I don't have much need to buy a professional NLE system.

Note that the file I tried this with is not a Reference AVI.

Thanks for any help.
jerryr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 05:15 PM   #2
Haddock

Hello,

This is the codec I should download and install.. but I don't have tested on Windows 10 : GV_CodecOption_Setup-8.5.0.1927.

- https://www.grassvalley.com/support/...roduct=general
- Grass Valley Codec Pack (v8.50.1927) for Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1, and Windows 10 (64-bit) Released: 2017-04-24
The Grass Valley Codec Pack allows you to import and export video files that use the Grass Valley HQ, Grass Valley HQX, Grass Valley Lossless, and Grass Valley DV codecs.

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 07:23 PM   #3
trillium

You could use the old machine to export mp4.
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4