Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 08:58 AM   #1
Barrymore
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 236
Wink Exporting for BluRay

We have a dance show to shoot this weekend & I normally only make DVD`s of shows we film however, I`ve been asked for a BluRay version, so a couple of questions. What`s the best file to use to export from Edius 6 to use in Encore for BluRay & secondly is it possible from within Encore to make either a DVD or BluRay without having to remake the menus? I know this is a GV Forum but if you don`t ask you don`t know! :-)
Barrymore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:48 AM   #2
zannettos
Member
 
zannettos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rhodes Greece
Posts: 79
Default

You do not have the Encore.
You can do it directly
Through the edius...burn to disc.
__________________
SUPERMICRO 7046T-NTR+ CPU DUAL XEON X5680 3.33 GHZ nVidia Quadro K2000D 2GB DDR5 32GB OF RAM WINDOWS 7 x64 ULTIMATE 8TB SEGATE RAID 1 & 8 ΤΒ WN STUDIO II MY BOOK RAID 1 & 8TB e-sata RAID1 CANOPUS SP FOR HDV FIRECODER-BLU EDIUS 5.5 EDIUS 6.08 EDIUS7.03 ADORAGE IMAGINATE 2 BD LG PROCODER 3 CANOPUS STUDIO CONTROL BOX PANASONIC AG HPX301 P2 AVC INTRA100 AJ-PCD20 P2 DRIVER PANASONIC VIDEO AJ-D250 DVCPRO CAMCORDER AJ-700E DVCPRO AG-HPX250Ε
zannettos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:50 AM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

I would make a Blu-ray H246 file, especially if you can use Quicksync because it will be faster than Encore.

If you have Encore CS6 it should not re-encode it. If you have a different version it may re-encode it although you can get round that as well if you know what you are doing.

Yes, you can make a DVD from a Blu-ray project in Encore. This means Encore resizes the footage for you which it messes up sometimes depending on the format. It should work, if given an MTS file, but it will probably get the field order wrong if you give it an HQ file (again this varies depending on which Encore version.)

Occasionally, I have seen people moan about the scaling of HD menus with Encore but I have been happy with it.

As for the downscaling, I think EDIUS 6.5/7 does a better job of downscaling, if you do it right, than Encore. If you enable "maximum quality" in the Encore settings Adobe say it is using Lanczos scaling but I still think EDIUS 6.5/7 does it better.

So although you could make an HD file and then get Encore to resize it you may decide to make an HD file, using Encore to make the Blu-ray, then make an SD file with EDIUS and do the DVD again in Encore because the final result will look a little bit better (IMO).
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:52 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrymore View Post
We have a dance show to shoot this weekend & I normally only make DVD`s of shows we film however, I`ve been asked for a BluRay version, so a couple of questions. What`s the best file to use to export from Edius 6 to use in Encore for BluRay & secondly is it possible from within Encore to make either a DVD or BluRay without having to remake the menus? I know this is a GV Forum but if you don`t ask you don`t know! :-)

mpeg ES export will work in Encore, but do not use VBR, stick with CBR
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:54 AM   #5
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
mpeg ES export will work in Encore, but do not use VBR, stick with CBR
is there a tutorial to burn with the highest quality a blu ray from edius only ?

thnaks
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 12:11 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

if you use a still menu in EDIUS 6.54 or earlier when making Blu-ray, the quality of the menu will ****, it will look like the text has been partially eaten by mice, so be sure you tick motion menu, then it will be smooth

in E7 it will be fine with still or motion

as for quality, use mpeg2 at 24mbits/sec CBR or less and ac3 384 audio (avoid VBR, EDIUS can't do VBR correctly, because VBR requires two passes)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 12:40 PM   #7
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

Are you sure you don't mean 24Mb or more for the best quality?
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 12:49 PM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
Are you sure you don't mean 24Mb or more for the best quality?
I use 24mbits/sec max if two hours or less

I use less then 24mbits/sec if more than 2 hours

this will ensure stutter free playback on any BD player that supports BD-R playback

there is no point going above 24 and certainly no point in using VBR
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 12:51 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,687
Default

Two separate specific file types will always produce a better product aimed at two formats than one.
When I did the two in one method I always used uncompressed files in Encore.
AME seemed to work better doing this with uncompressed than compressed files. The two versions were pretty decent.
However, making two h.264 files from HQ using TMPGE always created better quality than those from AME or Edius.

If time is the issue, Quicksync will work. But, I can get better quality from TMPGE using CPU vs TMPGE using Quicksync because of the options available when using the CPU.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 02:01 PM   #10
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Two separate specific file types will always produce a better product aimed at two formats than one.
When I did the two in one method I always used uncompressed files in Encore.
AME seemed to work better doing this with uncompressed than compressed files. The two versions were pretty decent.
However, making two h.264 files from HQ using TMPGE always created better quality than those from AME or Edius.

If time is the issue, Quicksync will work. But, I can get better quality from TMPGE using CPU vs TMPGE using Quicksync because of the options available when using the CPU.
from encoding in tmpegenc, what is your source file's settings ?
thx
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BluRay from Edius ! murphyvideos Editing with EDIUS 12 10-25-2010 02:30 PM
Exporting from EDIUS to Bluray zvit Editing with EDIUS 3 02-11-2010 07:11 PM
ProCoder and Bluray rando ProCoder 6 03-08-2009 03:01 PM
Bitrates - now on to BluRay.... AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 7 06-08-2008 11:35 PM
BluRay Mpeg mattmatt Editing with EDIUS 3 05-20-2008 12:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.