Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2019, 12:43 AM   #1
andris
Senior Member
 
andris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 251
Default ADVC300 settings for Edius

Recently I had to use my ADVC300 and was going nowhere fast until I found a post from Anton providing a link showing relevant Edius screenshots. It got me going but I cannot find the forum post again.
Have been to Anton'w web site but can't put my finger on it. Appreciate if someone (or Anton) can provide it.
[Edius 8/ Win10 with IEEE 1394 port]
andris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:56 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,126
Default

Win 10 does not support Firewire 400, it only supports Firewire 800

so you need to download the legacy firewire driver for Win 10

the legacy driver is built in to Win7, I have no idea about Win8 because I bypassed that creation

https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...re-driver.html
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 11:04 AM   #3
andris
Senior Member
 
andris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 251
Default

Hi Anton,

Thanks for reply but I don't think you understood my request.

I had no problem after I clicked on the link in your post. Digitised my VHS tape into Edius perfectly using ADVC300 but because it's something I now do about once a decade I thought I would create an SOP and in it reference your link, just in case I need to refer to it sometime again in future.
I saw on the forum many posts from people having similar problems and I thought posting your link specifically under this subject header would help others find it quickly. I did many, many forum searches over many days before I eventually stumbled across your post.
I'm after the link showing the Edius Device Preset settings.

Last edited by andris; 11-03-2019 at 11:09 AM.
andris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 11:17 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,126
Default

the device preset setting is Generic OHCI input

then you select 720x576 50i DV
https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...es/DV-PAL2.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 11:27 AM   #5
andris
Senior Member
 
andris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 251
Default

Thanks,

Just wondering; I see you do not select Convert 16Bit/2ch.
Would you know what is the difference is in result between selecting Yes and leaving as No (default)
andris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 11:30 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andris View Post
Thanks,

Just wondering; I see you do not select Convert 16Bit/2ch.
Would you know what is the difference is in result between selecting Yes and leaving as No (default)
anything coming in via firewire is 16bit at most, so no need to convert
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC300 and Edius Pro southskies ADVC 13 07-21-2018 05:48 AM
ADVC300 Block Diagram/Key Settings 4vrEng ADVC 4 06-21-2015 12:16 PM
ADVC300 Basic Switch Settings thewelshman1943 ADVC 8 01-28-2010 01:11 PM
ADVC300: Best settings for capturing from perfect sources hysteriah ADVC 5 10-08-2007 08:35 PM
ADVC300 - video signal from ADVC300 is turned in black / white. MichielM ADVC 2 09-11-2007 01:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.