Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2019, 07:51 PM   #1
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default quicksync

couple quicksync questions, 1. I have onboard HDMI conntected to one monitor and my G-force to another, I cant seem to get the qs working do I need to make the onboard monitor my main or somehthing?
2. I have Edius 8 will QS also help 4K material playback in the timeline?

Randy
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 08:33 PM   #2
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 460
Default

Take it that when you try to 'print to file' using H.264/AVC the 'enable conversion' check box is greyed out.
Is the onboard GPU enabled in BIOS?. Have a look through your MB manual to see how to set it on. The other possibility is that you have the wrong intel driver installed. Windows update can change this file and stop QS working. If GPU is enabled correctly in BIOS maybe install the driver supplied with your MB.

Good luck G

Edit :What processor do you have? Other members should be able to advise on the correct Intel GPU driver.
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:59 AM   #3
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Don't use Intel generic video "chip" driver - you have to get the motherboard manufacturer's specific drivers.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 01:16 PM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

My second system is set up much like yours so for question 1-must be set in bios to always use on board GPU, if you cannot do that in bios you may have to have onboard as main monitor. Onboard must be connected to a monitor anyway. For Question 2 -- yes it does improve 4K editing and encoding.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:57 PM   #5
franceschilla5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 21
Default

It would be possible to give you a hand but you don't indicate your processor (so it's impossible to know if it has Integrated Graphics)
franceschilla5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:31 AM   #6
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default

Thanks everyone I got it! very impressive, its a 4790K I can play 1 4K 60 file in a multicam with 1 HD file. Would it be safe to assume if I bought a new system say 8700 the quicksync performance would be even better? or is it like a on/off feature?
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 09:08 PM   #7
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 429
Default

What did you do to get it? Just wonder'in. In my case it was just connecting a monitor to the Intel 630 chip on my mobo.

I think with the new processor in the 8700 group you'll just have to see what Intel chip is on it.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 05:46 AM   #8
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default

Actually I had to do everything:) It was connected to a monitor BUT I had to enable it in the bios and install the Asus drivers. I remember doing this before and having trouble so I quit. It was mainly Windows forcing a new driver on me.
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 02:48 PM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Are you running Windows 10 Pro or Home? If it is HOME, I suggest you upgrade to Pro - because HOME will force a driver down its throat _ so as to speak - no choice given.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 04:42 PM   #10
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Are you running Windows 10 Pro or Home? If it is HOME, I suggest you upgrade to Pro - because HOME will force a driver down its throat _ so as to speak - no choice given.
Agreed. Home is fine for someone just doing a bit of web surfing or basic word processing, but if trying to use software that is picky over driver versions, Pro is a must if you want to keep you sanity.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGA and Quicksync vortigern EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 05-30-2018 06:00 PM
Quicksync vortigern Editing with EDIUS 10 07-27-2016 02:39 PM
Quicksync Question Bassman EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 3 10-02-2012 11:46 AM
Quicksync rando Editing with EDIUS 1 08-19-2011 03:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.