Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2019, 12:44 PM   #61
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I am not familiar with AVAST on where to go to add the exclusions for EDIUS, you also need to add the exclusions to Defender

the following need to be excluded:
C:\Program Files\Grass Valley
C:\Users\Login Account Name\AppData\Roaming\Grass Valley
C:\ProgramData\Grass Valley
The folder that holds all EDIUS projects
Just an FYI for you. In avast. Exceptions are set by selecting Menu>Settings>Exceptions in the GUI.

Make the settings Anton outlined, as well as the actual media drives, and Avast will not get in the way of Edius at all.

As I have said before though, just like every virus scanner, it's better to use the free version that does not have the "Internet Security Suite" stuff, or disable this stuff in a paid version. The Paid versions of virus scanners that offer all this extra stuff, often introduce other things like firewalls, that add another layer of complexity that isn't really needed if you are in a controlled environment and not always hooked up to public wifi that exposes you to potential intrusions from others.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:17 PM   #62
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

Hey guys this is super frustrating

I'm going to run the RAM diagnostic overnight tonight as my IT friend said it would take a long time and I can't use my computer during that time

I spoke to ASUS and they actually said a hardware issue would cause multiple problems, not just crashing in one particular program

the problem is not the volume of RAM as the ASUS g75vw only has 8 gig of ram, and ran Edius 8pro like a beast.

This new laptop has 16gig DDR so this is all super confusing

my friends IT husband suggested I put computer into diagnostic mode in MS config and enabling one thing at a time to see if I can eradicate the Edius crash's..

BUT slight problem with this right now (has to wait unfortunately) when put into MS Config Diagnostic mode it won't allow you to login with microsoft account, only local account. I use my local account with a pin, not a password, and diagnostic disables pin entry too.. Guess what? none of my passwords are working,a nd apparently if you created a local user account prior to WIN10 1083 you can't reset the password, so once I'm done editing this client job I'm going to have to create another new user, backup all the edius files, outlook emails, and a few other things to a 2nd user account, as well as a D drive folder, try to port to new user account.. THEN run diagnostic

:(

My husband is asking 'will upgrading to Edius 9 fix this"

thoughts?
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:41 PM   #63
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

How about downloading a fresh copy of EDIUS 8.53 (or whatever version you are currently running) from Grass Valley website and install it again? Just to eliminate a possibility of having a corrupted file somewhere?

None of us would like to be in your shoe - that I am absolutely certain. It is a nightmare for you.

Do you have another laptop? If so - you can fallback to that laptop first - do your urgent work - while this present laptop - you can do all your suggested diagnostics.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:50 PM   #64
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
How about downloading a fresh copy of EDIUS 8.53 (or whatever version you are currently running) from Grass Valley website and install it again? Just to eliminate a possibility of having a corrupted file somewhere?

None of us would like to be in your shoe - that I am absolutely certain. It is a nightmare for you.

Do you have another laptop? If so - you can fallback to that laptop first - do your urgent work - while this present laptop - you can do all your suggested diagnostics.


Unfortunately my violent EX husband threw my Asus G75vW at my face (on more than one occasion) and it landed where the power plug plugs into the motherboard... chippiing part of the motherboard so basically if you cough it comes unplugged, and you have to jimmy it to get it connected. I replaced the battery so I can get a good hour perhaps on battery but when I'm editing it would constantly become disconnected from power - which is really unfortunate because besides that my 2012 ASUS g75vw is still a video editing MACHINE!

New nice husband got me the new laptop for my birthday in August (we had to wait til Best Buys no tax weekend) and it wasn't until October that I actually had enough break between editing to uninstall photoshop and Edius and move them to the new machine.. been battling this problem since

My friends IT husband was actually the one who suggested the ASUS ROG STRIX insisting that it was more powerful than the Asus G75vw.. and insisting that anything that ran smoothly on the old laptop would run even easier on the new one :/

sadly with laptops 17" are not popular which is frustrating because out of 100 laptops to choose from only 10 might be high end gaming machines and only 3 might be 17"
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:18 PM   #65
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

ANTON just crashed again and the Grass Valley Local Temp file doesn't have a dump file :(
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:32 PM   #66
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

I am sorry to learn about that.

This Lenovo P72 is 17 inches - weighs a ton, but I had zero problems with it so far.

I don't think the issue is EDIUS now ... it looks like EDIUS but - it might be EDIUS talking to a Windows driver - and the driver causes the break - making it appear like EDIUS causing it. Because there is no dump taken by EDIUS - and even if there is one - the previous dump that Anton displays out - it is looking more like Windows issue.

You can do two things - download the EDIUS 8.53 installer from Grass Valley and re-install it. And you can download all the ASUS specific drivers from their website and re-install the device drivers.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:36 PM   #67
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 460
Default

Reading through the thread I cannot establish that Edius was installed with the AV turned off. You appear to have 2 AV on board. Maybe you turned 'avast' off to install Edius but the action of turning one AV off may have allowed the first AV to commence running. I'm pretty sure many users install with the AV on despite recommendations on the Edius forum not to do so. Likewise many use Edius without adding exclusions to the AV.
Perhaps reinstalling Edius with no AV running may be easy & quick to do.

I feel your frustration.
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:46 PM   #68
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Gentlemen,

I am running Norton's Internet Security with the firewall activated and all of the features turned on. I installed all my programs this way - with zero problems. So, I don't think it is anti virus software interference.

I noticed that Windows Defender - will turn itself OFF once it sees another anti-virus software in the system.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 07:05 PM   #69
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

TIngsern - yes my friends IT husband is saying driver issue now.. he agrees with what you have said..
I will finish this client job (should be finished in next 2 hours)
then uninstall edius and try all the asus drivers

GEOFF
I commpletely removed Avast when Anton asked me to, so when I do the reinstall (will redownload the files from Grass Valley site today) that will eradicate that step


Do I disable windows defender and uninstall malwarebytes before installing too?
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 07:16 PM   #70
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingtolearn View Post
TIngsern - yes my friends IT husband is saying driver issue now.. he agrees with what you have said..
I will finish this client job (should be finished in next 2 hours)
then uninstall edius and try all the asus drivers

GEOFF
I commpletely removed Avast when Anton asked me to, so when I do the reinstall (will redownload the files from Grass Valley site today) that will eradicate that step


Do I disable windows defender and uninstall malwarebytes before installing too?
Drivers issues can cause lots of grief, in particular, if your Win10 is the Home version where it enforces updates. I'd suggest that you also employ the Win10 tweaking guide that Jerry has listed in his signature to help avoid this issue.

Personally, I have installed Edius with a virus scanner running in the past and sometimes had issues and sometimes didn't, so as a matter of course, I now disable the scanner just in case.

I also prefer using a 3rd party scanner (something like Avast), as it is a lot easier to disable the "shields", do the install and re-enable the shields, than it is to disable the one built into Windows. Often 3rd party scanners push out virus definition updates more often also, so you have a more current protection.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 07-29-2019 at 11:24 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 7.4 constantly crashing noafilm Editing with EDIUS 61 11-05-2015 01:47 AM
Sigh ... it's one of those days/projects where Edius is crashing constantly. Andy Editing with EDIUS 12 02-18-2013 06:27 AM
Edius constantly crashing shamo Editing with EDIUS 8 02-08-2013 01:03 AM
Trouble with Edius Pro 4.54 (it crashing) c0y0t3 Editing with EDIUS 0 02-14-2008 01:04 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.