Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default dvd copy protection?

Hi!
Does anyone have an idea of how i can put a copy protection to a dvd?
I use to author in Labpro.But if I can do it inside Edius that would also be nice.
Or is there any way from Labpro?
Thank you
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,884
Default

Have the DVD stamped by a replication service similar to commercial DVDs, and pay the extra cost for adding the copy protection. (A significant added cost if small numbers of DVD are involved.)

As I understand it is not practical to add copy protection for DVD-R and similar media. In any case, most copy protection schemes only serve keep basically honest people honest, and some may inhibit legal playing of the DVD.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:19 PM   #3
chappyware
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 153
Default Secure-disk in Nero 11

Never tried it but it's looks like it would give you some control. Don't know enough about it. Maybe someone else knows.
__________________
Gigabyte mobo with i7 K2600, 16G Ram, Storm Mobile, nVidia 570 but I'm just a hobbyist.
chappyware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:25 PM   #4
chappyware
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 153
Default on second thought

SecurDisk doesn't prevent copying. It prevents accessing without a password. sorry for my confusion. Good luck with your search.
__________________
Gigabyte mobo with i7 K2600, 16G Ram, Storm Mobile, nVidia 570 but I'm just a hobbyist.
chappyware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 10:42 PM   #5
Dry Biscuit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In the middle
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Glou View Post
Hi!
Does anyone have an idea of how i can put a copy protection to a dvd?
I use to author in Labpro.But if I can do it inside Edius that would also be nice.
Or is there any way from Labpro?
Thank you
It is not worth the expense - none of the copy protections are any good and all can be broken/copied with readily available free software.
__________________
Main Editing System: Sinclair ZX81 0.75Mhz chip (Overclocked to 12Ghz), Liquid Nitrogen Cooled. 48k of RAM, Compact Cassette tape drive (9600 baud), 4" B&W monitor. No keyboard - all input by thought transfer from a colander on my head. Gives me 180 layers of 4k in real time (all with 3D PIP added) and can encode and burn a 2 hour Blu Ray in just under 12 seconds. Custom editing chair that floats on magnets 2 feet above the floor. I am also able to travel in time.
Dry Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:01 AM   #6
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

I thought it was going to be easy :)
but thank you anyway.
George
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:37 PM   #7
zannettos
Member
 
zannettos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rhodes Greece
Posts: 79
Default

ΓΙΩΡΓΟ ΥΠΑΡΧΕΙ ΕΝΑΣ ΤΡΟΠΟΣ
ΑΦΟΥ ΓΡΑΨΕΙΣ ΤΟ dvd ΚΑΝΕ ΜΙΑ ΧΑΡΑΞΗ ΣΤΟ ΑΓΡΑΦΟ ΜΕΡΟΣ ΤΑ ΠΕΡΙΣΣΟΤΕΡΑ ΠΡΟΓΡΑΜΜΑΤΑ ΑΝΤΙΓΡΑΦΗΣ ΔΕΝ ΘΑ ΜΠΟΡΕΣΟΥΝ ΝΑ ΤΟ ΚΟΠΙΑΡΟΥΝ
ΠΡΟΥΠΟΘΕΣΗ ΕΙΝΑΙ ΝΑ ΑΦΗΣΕΙΣ ΛΙΓΟ ΚΕΝΟ ΧΩΡΟ
__________________
SUPERMICRO 7046T-NTR+ CPU DUAL XEON X5680 3.33 GHZ nVidia Quadro K2000D 2GB DDR5 32GB OF RAM WINDOWS 7 x64 ULTIMATE 8TB SEGATE RAID 1 & 8 ΤΒ WN STUDIO II MY BOOK RAID 1 & 8TB e-sata RAID1 CANOPUS SP FOR HDV FIRECODER-BLU EDIUS 5.5 EDIUS 6.08 EDIUS7.03 ADORAGE IMAGINATE 2 BD LG PROCODER 3 CANOPUS STUDIO CONTROL BOX PANASONIC AG HPX301 P2 AVC INTRA100 AJ-PCD20 P2 DRIVER PANASONIC VIDEO AJ-D250 DVCPRO CAMCORDER AJ-700E DVCPRO AG-HPX250Ε
zannettos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 05:02 PM   #8
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

Γεια σου Zannettos.Καλή η ιδέα σου αλλά μιλάω για περίπου 200 αντίγραφα τα οποία θα παραδοθούν.Οπότε λίγο δύσκολο να χαράζω 200 κομμάτια.
Ευχαριστώ πάντως.Ασχολείσαι με μοντάζ γάμου κτλ? ελπίζω να είσαι καλά.
Γιώργος.

Anyway.Thank you all. I just thought that there must be a "button" in Labpro or in other software that I can choose before I author the dvd and compile it.
Anyway Thanks a lot guys.
George
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:11 PM   #9
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,884
Default

A link to a replication service with information on DVD copy protection.
http://www.twmedia.com/dvdcopyprotection.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:32 PM   #10
Dry Biscuit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In the middle
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Glou View Post
I thought it was going to be easy :)
but thank you anyway.
George
Oh yes - and the other thing I forgot to mention was if you do want to copy protect your DVD's and have them stamped at a replication house they will want you master on DLT. If you do not have a DLT machine you will have to buy/rent one!

More fannying about for something that a 7 year old child could crack while he was updating his status on Facebook and eating his dinner at the same time !
__________________
Main Editing System: Sinclair ZX81 0.75Mhz chip (Overclocked to 12Ghz), Liquid Nitrogen Cooled. 48k of RAM, Compact Cassette tape drive (9600 baud), 4" B&W monitor. No keyboard - all input by thought transfer from a colander on my head. Gives me 180 layers of 4k in real time (all with 3D PIP added) and can encode and burn a 2 hour Blu Ray in just under 12 seconds. Custom editing chair that floats on magnets 2 feet above the floor. I am also able to travel in time.
Dry Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDP file for DVD Copy Protection thone EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 13 05-09-2009 10:31 PM
css or copy protection software pageblair ProCoder 15 10-11-2008 07:41 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.