Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2019, 08:04 PM   #1
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 604
Default Slow Motion on 24fps

Hey guys, so a few of you said that I shouldn't shoot at 24 frames if I'm going to 'slow motion'
but just shot a funeral that I was hoping to do some slow motion of.. and googled '24frames slow motion' and found a tutorial from another program about 'optical flow' for slow motion.

I did a quick google it it looks like Edius 8 added this feature.. which basically removes the choppy look from slow motion....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4eqHU4H3G0

I just tried slowing something to 60% and it's not choppy WITH optical flow, but without it it's very choppy

:)
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
www.skysimonefilm.com
www.facebook.com/skysimonephoto





Laptop:
ASUS - 17.3" Gaming Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 - 1TB Hard Drive + 256GB SSD - Metal Star Gray
Edius Pro 9 Windows 10
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 11:26 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingtolearn View Post
but just shot a funeral that I was hoping to do some slow motion
slow motion at a funeral? nothing moves to begin with :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 11:59 PM   #3
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

@Anton, Lol.

In EDIUS 9 the optical flow is improved. There are new settings to achieve even better optical flow result. Some will require rendering but the results are pretty good.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 12:09 AM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingtolearn View Post
Hey guys, so a few of you said that I shouldn't shoot at 24 frames if I'm going to 'slow motion'
but just shot a funeral that I was hoping to do some slow motion of.. and googled '24frames slow motion' and found a tutorial from another program about 'optical flow' for slow motion.

I did a quick google it it looks like Edius 8 added this feature.. which basically removes the choppy look from slow motion....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4eqHU4H3G0

I just tried slowing something to 60% and it's not choppy WITH optical flow, but without it it's very choppy

:)
A word of warning. Optical flow is not a guaranteed set it and forget it kind of thing. It has to be applied on a clip by clip basis and checked as you go. If you applied it to a single segment that had cuts or transitions rendered/exported into in it or major rapid changes, the optical flow will get thrown for a loop. Watch out for weird warping in the motion.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 12:36 AM   #5
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
@Anton, Lol.

In EDIUS 9 the optical flow is improved. There are new settings to achieve even better optical flow result. Some will require rendering but the results are pretty good.
Yes I have used this when for some reason my camera was knocked to 25p when filming some fast action and it looked terrible
Just using the standard setting was even worse, but, setting it to the "Highest accuracy" I was really surprised, BUT REAL HORSEPOWER is needed to render the clip
Needed to use "Shift Q" to make a new clip to be able to play the timeline, was around 10 second clip and made and drank a nice coffey while waiting but the result was well worth the time
The latest effort in E9 is far better than "RESPEEDER" almost unbelievable
Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 12:47 AM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

Agreed on the horsepower need. Also use shift + q but if I have some clips which need opticalflow at highest I use a Batch export and let it run when I sleep. :)
If we could phone notifications for rendering and exporting.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 05:32 AM   #7
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 475
Default

if you shoot at 50p or 60p, you can slow it down 50% without using optical flow

Last edited by ulyssesvideo; 03-03-2019 at 05:38 AM.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 08:27 AM   #8
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,424
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
If we could phone notifications for rendering and exporting.
Steve all suggestions for feature requests should be made here https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ad.php?t=24594
ROTFL
Fantastic idea and we could run edits via Alexa. After the lighting has been changed and the curtains closed...
Alexa- render my timeline
Alexa- slow down my footage
Alexa- block threads from "seagulls" who fly in, dump their question and never respond to the help they are offered.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 04:05 PM   #9
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDave View Post
Steve all suggestions for feature requests should be made here https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ad.php?t=24594
ROTFL
Fantastic idea and we could run edits via Alexa. After the lighting has been changed and the curtains closed...
Alexa- render my timeline
Alexa- slow down my footage
Alexa- block threads from "seagulls" who fly in, dump their question and never respond to the help they are offered.
LOL yes I was just joking. :D But you are right. Thanks for setting me straight. :D
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 11:09 PM   #10
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 604
Default

I shoot with Canon DSLR cameras, a lot of them don't have higher frame rates, just 24 and 30 to choose from
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
www.skysimonefilm.com
www.facebook.com/skysimonephoto





Laptop:
ASUS - 17.3" Gaming Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 - 1TB Hard Drive + 256GB SSD - Metal Star Gray
Edius Pro 9 Windows 10
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow motion question George Glou Editing with EDIUS 13 05-02-2012 02:14 PM
Slow motion with shutter Barry Wilkes Editing with EDIUS 10 08-20-2011 04:32 AM
Slow Motion Question mark williams Editing with EDIUS 4 06-04-2011 11:57 PM
Slow motion software Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 7 03-29-2011 05:18 AM
slow motion 5dmkii deebee69 Editing with EDIUS 2 09-07-2010 07:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.