Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 09:28 PM   #1
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 453
Default firewire capture weird problems

I'm trying to capture SD firewire streams from my old storm card and from my Panasonic DV 2000 deck into Neo 2.5 into an Alieware system i7 Win 7 Pro using Neo 2.5.

Neo sees the deck and its timecode but fails to initialize capture.

From the old storm card it evidently sees nothing at all. From a Canon HDV-30 camcorder it will capture correctly- all using same cable.

The Panansonic sees the stream from the old storm card no problem.

I'm stymied on this. There is a good stream coming from the old storm card, the deck confirms this, so I don't get it.

I had to turn on all autoplay features for dumb Win 7 to allow the Canon stream, with autoplay turned off Win7 would nto see it either.

Any suggestions out there on what the issue might be?
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:53 PM   #2
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 453
Default Panasonic DV 2000 capture probs

Just ran the stream from the Panasonic into my Canon camcorder with no problem, so it's some problem with the Win 7 machine- wonder if it's some idiotic digital property rights setting- though all footage is mine.

Drivign me nuts. Ran the firewire from my Sony DSR200 DV into the Win7 with no problem though.

Driving me nutz.

Neo sees the timecode from the DV deck with no problem so some signal is obviously getting in.
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:22 PM   #3
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,586
Default

Make sure you use the "Legacy" IEEE 1394 driver -- the driver that Windows 7 installs by default does not work. Go to Device Manager, select the IEEE 1394 port, cliick on "Update Driver" and change the driver using the "Let me select a driver" method.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 12:46 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,610
Default

http://www.videoproductions.com.au/h...re-driver.html
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 05:10 PM   #5
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 453
Default thanks

Thanks guys, it was the legacy driver issue, rolled back to the older driver and all is well. Been a couple of years since I had to mess with this and now I remember the issue.
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems capturing HDV via firewire Couch Media Editing with EDIUS 4 09-28-2009 05:21 AM
Still Learning Edius - Cannot capture anything via firewire therealmav Editing with EDIUS 21 08-27-2009 09:25 AM
Weird HDV problems from my new V1's rokclimr Editing with EDIUS 9 07-26-2007 02:35 AM
about firewire capture montage Editing with EDIUS 3 07-12-2007 06:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.