Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 06:05 AM   #1
videogirl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 36
Default Edius just stopped capturing. HELP!

ok so let me first say that I have been capturing and editing in Edius for 2 years. I have never had this issue before.

I have 9 tapes to capture and just captured the first 5 without any dramas.
You know how capture works, connected to 6pin firewire cable on xp and when you play it plays, when you rewind it mimics on the screen

well I went into input settings as per usual but its as though the fire wire cable has just lost contact.. it won't capture at all.

help
videogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:06 AM   #2
videogirl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 36
Default

hdv input 1080x 1440
videogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:19 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by videogirl View Post
hdv input 1080x 1440
are you selecting generic HDV input and HQ 1440x1080 50i ? I assume the tape is Pal and HDV?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:32 AM   #4
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

First I will give the obvious to check
Change Firewire cable
Open Computer<>Properties<>Hardware Tab<>Device Manager
Turn the camera off and back on after a few seconds and under "Sound Video and Game controllers" does an entry AV/C Tape device appear
If it does not did an new entry "Imaging devices" appear, if so the camera has changed to SD Down convert but as you have made previous downloads this does not seem probable, can happen if set to Auto and a DV tape has been used! on some cameras
Also check the camera is not set to Auto playback, must be set to HDV, could even be the tape is DV SD?
The worst possible scenario is the firewire in the camera has failed, not uncommon if it has been plugged in and out with the camera on
REgards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,

Last edited by Bluetongue; 04-01-2010 at 06:42 AM.
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 03:43 PM   #5
videogirl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluetongue View Post
First I will give the obvious to check
Change Firewire cable
Open Computer<>Properties<>Hardware Tab<>Device Manager
Turn the camera off and back on after a few seconds and under "Sound Video and Game controllers" does an entry AV/C Tape device appear
If it does not did an new entry "Imaging devices" appear, if so the camera has changed to SD Down convert but as you have made previous downloads this does not seem probable, can happen if set to Auto and a DV tape has been used! on some cameras
Also check the camera is not set to Auto playback, must be set to HDV, could even be the tape is DV SD?
The worst possible scenario is the firewire in the camera has failed, not uncommon if it has been plugged in and out with the camera on
REgards Barry





Hey there Anton,
yes pal dv tapes.
Nothing I am doing is any different to how I have been doing it the last 2 years.
I went out and replaced my firewire card and cable unnessessary it still hasnt fixed the problem.
My computer IS recognising a camera plugged in but edius is not.

'capture' is just staying greyed out even after I select the input settings.

turned cameras on adn off, restarted pc.. movie maker is recognising a capture device but edius is not
now idea where this issues come from



when I go into the Device Manager under sound/vid/game
it has

av/c tape device


hang on I will try making sure 'auto playback' is off.. hang on



OH....I just turned 'auto' off and that seems to have amended the drama!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:)
I will let you know if it happens again
thanks heaps!
videogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 03:45 PM   #6
videogirl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 36
Default

darn it!
that means i bought a new firewire card for nothing!
videogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:32 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by videogirl View Post
darn it!
that means i bought a new firewire card for nothing!
the is good to help in economic recovery
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:24 PM   #8
chec
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tampa
Posts: 53
Default

I have a rather new quad-core system. I cannot and have not yet been able to capture from the firewire input.

When I roll tape on the DVCAM (Panasonic DVC200) I see the time display in Edius follow the timecode but cannot get a video capture to occur.

The Capturing screen never gets past "Initailizing..."

I have windows 7 64-bit and Edius 5.50
chec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:39 PM   #9
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chec View Post
I have a rather new quad-core system. I cannot and have not yet been able to capture from the firewire input.

When I roll tape on the DVCAM (Panasonic DVC200) I see the time display in Edius follow the timecode but cannot get a video capture to occur.

The Capturing screen never gets past "Initailizing..."

I have windows 7 64-bit and Edius 5.50
Have you tried the legacy drivers for firewire?
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:03 PM   #10
chec
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tampa
Posts: 53
Default

Legacy?? No.

Where do I find these drivers that you suggest? On a win7 CD, elsewhere?

Wouldn't a 32-bit driver be another problem in a 64-bit ssytem.
chec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius Main Stopped Working loosefoot Editing with EDIUS 21 12-20-2009 03:57 PM
Capturing Stopped at 01:05:00 (SP time)... nitrococuk Editing with EDIUS 1 08-31-2009 03:31 AM
Edius 5 - Playback stopped error... Aristotelis Editing with EDIUS 27 01-04-2009 10:03 AM
Jpegs stopped working in EDIUS 4.5 teach99 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-15-2008 09:00 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.