Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 09:28 AM   #1
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,438
Default New PC and Edius 6.05: many problems. help!

Hi, I have a new PC, I use Edius 6.05, win 7 x64 and this hardware:
INTEL Core i7 980X 3.33Ghz 12MB
Motherboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH X58
RAM: CORSAIR DDR3 1600 12GB n 4x3
VIDEO CARD: Zotac Geforce GTX 470 1280 MB
I use always 30-35 minutes projects with AVCHD files.
It is an assembled PC with two hardrives: 1 for OS (win 7 x64) and the other one is a hardrive for AVCHD files storage (they are 2 hardrive in RAID0).
When I have I brought the PC at home I have renamed the hardrive (with RAID0) with "E" letter. I don't remember the original letter, may be it was "D".
Then I have updated the driver on RAID0 hardrive.

Now my problems:
I am able to make video editing but what an effort!
Edius gets stuck and jammed every 10-20 seconds and every 15 minutes chashes. I have unistalled everithing and istalled again, but I always get the same problems.
Thanks for your suggestions.
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe

Last edited by Ulisse; 11-12-2011 at 11:41 AM.
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:53 AM   #2
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Ulisse
Sounds similar to my problem with my new set up BUT worse
My problem was the memory AND I have Corsair memory
My solution was to use one of the "Profiles" for memory on the Gigabyte motherboard BIOS that raised the speed from 1333Mhz to 1600mhz (even though the memory was 1600) and raised the voltage to 1.5V
I have no idea about ASUS bios but maybe you can find something similar
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 11:40 AM   #3
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluetongue View Post
Ulisse
Sounds similar to my problem with my new set up BUT worse
Barry, thanks for your suggestion.
But did you get problems with Edius only or also with other softwares? I can tell you my PC is just splendid and works very fine with every software but with Edius only I have problems.
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 12:04 PM   #4
col lamb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You have a similar PC to mine, and mine runs just great (sorry, did not mean to rub it in).

With the Corsair memory did you use Corsairs' memory configurator to actually get the most compatible memory sticks OR did you just buy 12Gb of memory?

Have you placed the memory in alternate slots?

If not, change them, check the manual as it does say in mine to use specific slots. Mine are in slots 2, 4 and 6 with slot 1 being closest to the CPU.

Also when you renamed the drive, did you change the settings in Edius so that allthe project files etc are on the "E" drive.

I do not fully understand your RAID 0 setup as you state you have 2 drives, 1 must be for the operating system and the other for video files etc, this second drive cannot be set up as RAID as you needed another drive to make a RAID 0 system which will make a total of 3 hard drives.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 12:39 PM   #5
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by col lamb View Post
Have you placed the memory in alternate slots?
If not, change them, check the manual as it does say in mine to use specific slots. Mine are in slots 2, 4 and 6 with slot 1 being closest to theCPU.
I don't know and I will verify it but I can tell you that my PC was assembled from an expert .

Quote:
Originally Posted by col lamb View Post
Also when you renamed the drive, did you change the settings in Edius so that allthe project files etc are on the "E" drive.
I have renomed "E" drive then I have installed Edius and every other program.
I have not to configure Edius for it. Edius sees all the AVCHD files but Edius but manages them badly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by col lamb View Post
I do not fully understand your RAID 0 setup as you state you have 2 drives, 1 must be for the operating system and the other for video files etc, this second drive cannot be set up as RAID as you needed another drive to make a RAID 0 system which will make a total of 3 hard drives.
I explain you better. I have one hardrive for OS, two hardrives for video editing (RAID0) and two hardrives for export.
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 01:47 PM   #6
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulisse View Post
Barry, thanks for your suggestion.
But did you get problems with Edius only or also with other softwares? I can tell you my PC is just splendid and works very fine with every software but with Edius only I have problems.
Ulisse
I had a little problem with everything, just seemed clunky, not what you would expect from a Hi end machine, but Edius was the worst, now it is as smooth as silk
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with PC 3.06 & Edius 5.5 ?? Bob Nilsen ProCoder 39 03-18-2011 04:10 AM
DVStrom 2 Pro --> problems on new PC cutrefilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 06-03-2009 08:45 AM
Edius 5 Performance compared to PC 3.05 Crespel Editing with EDIUS 9 09-26-2008 01:24 AM
Installing PC 1.5 on a machine that already has PC3.05 Imagine Video ProCoder 4 05-12-2008 12:00 AM
CPU use in PC 3.05 Imagine Video ProCoder 3 05-10-2008 10:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.