Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2020, 04:07 PM   #1
WayneWat87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Northern
Posts: 1
Default Hi8 capture 16:9 smaller Screen as 4:3???

Hi Everyone.

I use ADVC 300 with a Hi8 Player. I want to capture this Hi 8/Video 8 Tapes as AVI.
I use Magix Video Deluxe an the capture works fine, but i have one question.
I have some Tapes that was record by an older 4:3 Cam. When I capture this Tapes, the 4:3 Avi was Fullscreen an looks OK, but when I capture the tapes ftom the newer Cam with 16:9 record, the capture file looks smaller. Normaly I think that the picture must be longer an fullscrren, but there ist a big black border around, see picture...

With Software STOIK Capturer there is the same problem.
Ist this right? I can't change everythin in the preferences form the capture progs.
Thanks
Wayne
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bild.jpg (71.5 KB, 23 views)
WayneWat87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 10:17 PM   #2
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneWat87 View Post
Hi Everyone.

I use ADVC 300 with a Hi8 Player. I want to capture this Hi 8/Video 8 Tapes as AVI.
I use Magix Video Deluxe an the capture works fine, but i have one question.
I have some Tapes that was record by an older 4:3 Cam. When I capture this Tapes, the 4:3 Avi was Fullscreen an looks OK, but when I capture the tapes ftom the newer Cam with 16:9 record, the capture file looks smaller. Normaly I think that the picture must be longer an fullscrren, but there ist a big black border around, see picture...

With Software STOIK Capturer there is the same problem.
Ist this right? I can't change everythin in the preferences form the capture progs.
Thanks
Wayne
The second one is 16*9! Right click on the properties and change the aspect to 4*3.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 01:01 AM   #3
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,902
Default

It can also depend on how the camcorder recorded the tape. In some cases a camcorder might letter box the image as in your capture. In this case the camcorder "threw away" many lines of vertical resolution. In some cases the camcorder might have made it anamorphic (by changing the pixel aspect ratio) so it looks "squashed in" at the sides but would be a full height image when captured as a SD image without display format adjustment. The editing/viewing system would need to know how to display the image.

However, I don't know whether or not your capture software supports this.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 08:38 AM   #4
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
It can also depend on how the camcorder recorded the tape. In some cases a camcorder might letter box the image as in your capture. In this case the camcorder "threw away" many lines of vertical resolution. In some cases the camcorder might have made it anamorphic (by changing the pixel aspect ratio) so it looks "squashed in" at the sides but would be a full height image when captured as a SD image without display format adjustment. The editing/viewing system would need to know how to display the image.

However, I don't know whether or not your capture software supports this.
Good point pseudo widescreen.
One would hope the o/p would compare a previously captured tape to see if the results change.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 02:51 PM   #5
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,902
Default

FWIW: I believe there was series of Sony camcorders that offered three screen width modes:

- Standard 4:3 mode

- "16:9 WIDE" mode that would appear "squashed" in from the sides on a standard 4:3 TV.

- "CINEMA" that pitch scan lines. to obtain a wide look. It looked top/bottom letterboxed on a standard 4:3 TV, but could be expanded to fill to screen on a 16:9 TV. This would have a black border all around on a typical 16:9 set unless a zoom mode is selected.

The attached manual extract explains.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WideCapture.JPG (83.3 KB, 7 views)
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what I have to set up in device Presets for HI8 capture ggdn ADVC 1 12-24-2011 02:51 PM
Trying to capture unordinary Hi8 tape with ADVC 300 strange ADVC 21 09-02-2011 09:28 PM
Capture old Hi8 tape tmilowski Editing with EDIUS 13 01-14-2011 07:02 PM
16.9 capture comes in at 4.3. Pete Editing with EDIUS 2 11-15-2009 11:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.