Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2008, 01:40 PM   #1
george
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 19
Default Subtitles

Any of you guys used Subtitle Workshop?
Just fixed some titles and need to know whats the best format to save in and export for bringing it in to edius. The manual is not so great!

thx
george is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:35 PM   #2
Ludde
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden, Helsingborg
Posts: 311
Default

Hi, I use subtitle workshop, but I never import it into edius, but i do import into my dvd authoring program, which is DVDit pro 6.1
Ludde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:29 PM   #3
biopic
Senior Member
 
biopic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 160
Default

We use Subtitle Workshop with DVDlab Pro. It doesn't seem to matter which format you choose as most are accepted.
__________________
Andrew Pinder
www.wideangles.tv
Edius 6.07 with SP/HDV Hardware; Windows 7 (64 bit Pro)
Supermicro X8SAX, i7-950 CPU, 12GB RAM
BFG Nvidia GeF 9600GT graphics, RME Fireface800 audio,
SATA RAID
biopic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:30 PM   #4
george
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 19
Default Subtitles in Edius

Maybe I'm not thinking right here! I thought it could be used in edius on the timeline just like normal subtitles? I hope I'm right!

If not whats the best way to put subtitles on an avi file- Quick title seems a long drag somehow.
george is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
biopic
Senior Member
 
biopic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 160
Default

No, I'm pretty sure SubtitleWorkshop is specifically for DVD authoring programs, where the subtitle is pocessed as a separate layer from the actual video. With Edius it's QuickTitler or TitleMotion "Pro" I'm afraid - I can well understand your disappointment.
__________________
Andrew Pinder
www.wideangles.tv
Edius 6.07 with SP/HDV Hardware; Windows 7 (64 bit Pro)
Supermicro X8SAX, i7-950 CPU, 12GB RAM
BFG Nvidia GeF 9600GT graphics, RME Fireface800 audio,
SATA RAID
biopic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 04:57 AM   #6
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

There's a difference between hard coded subtitles and subtitles. With regular subtitles, the user can turn on/off the subtitles with the remote control (or through a menu), and this is done through the DVD authoring program. The other way is hard coded subs where the subtitles are always present and encoded with the video. This can be done in EDIUS through quicktitler or TMPro or Photoshop (I've done it through Photoshop).
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:16 AM   #7
george
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks for your imput guys! Quick titler here I come.
george is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
subtitles in Edius Sean Editing with EDIUS 0 11-08-2008 09:34 PM
Importing subtitles Rambler Editing with EDIUS 3 10-01-2008 02:42 AM
DVD Subtitles question avlab1 Editing with EDIUS 4 05-18-2008 06:40 AM
How do I make subtitles that can be turned off? Josh J Editing with EDIUS 6 04-22-2008 11:19 PM
Subtitles with Edius JTE48 Editing with EDIUS 2 07-29-2007 10:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.