Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2019, 01:08 AM   #1
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default MP4 performance is dreadful in WG 9.40 4896

New 1920 by 1080 50p project.

Add MP4 clip to timeline

The buffer is happily counting up playing the HD MP4 file in the timeline but the GUI is completely unresponsive it takes 10 seconds to get a stop to work. The stop button is slightly better than the space bar.

Save project

If I re-start Edius it only takes a second to stop.

What is going on here?

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 10:14 PM   #2
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Hi Mike.

Is there maybe something else on your system that's conflicting with it, maybe software, system or hardware related?

I only ask as I'm trialling the exact same version at the moment and don't get any of those issues. I'm using all kinds of codecs and containers, including various types of MPEG, MP4, H.264, H.265 and a bunch of other types of system/NLE intermediates at various bit depths and colour sub-samplings, with no issues at all.

Even if I disable my iGPU, so no assistance with certain codecs, it's all solid even right up to 4K 60FPS.

I've not actually checked to see what GV's system configuration recommendations are but I've not done anything special on my current system. Just installed 9 alongside 8 and it seems to have been great so far.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:16 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by createmedia View Post
New 1920 by 1080 50p project.

Add MP4 clip to timeline

The buffer is happily counting up playing the HD MP4 file in the timeline but the GUI is completely unresponsive it takes 10 seconds to get a stop to work. The stop button is slightly better than the space bar.

Save project

If I re-start Edius it only takes a second to stop.

What is going on here?

Mike
do you use accelerated seek? do you have show correct frame when scrubbing enabled?
Attached Images
File Type: png AVP-00089.png (10.4 KB, 42 views)
File Type: png AVP-00087.png (13.1 KB, 38 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:38 PM   #4
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

Ok Anton, neither make any difference.

It is 25p clip in a 50p project.

I can now see where the issue is.

There is no CPU headroom left for the GUI when Edius is filling the buffer. CPU1 is at 100% and CPU0 is at 95%.

When the buffer is full the GUI becomes responsive, space bar stops it instantly.

Setting the buffer to 128Mb stops the issue but then there is no coast over any difficult to play parts.

I also note the settings window often hides behind the window below (in my case the Bin as I have the Timeline full screen on the RH screen) it so it is difficult to find the OK or apply buttons. It should be always on top.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:40 PM   #5
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

Also I note the settings window takes ages to open and I have the rotating orb for about 10 seconds before it appears

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:49 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,066
Default

there is something wrong, your PC should do this without blinking
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 03:27 PM   #7
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

What do I look for?

The AV is all Edius excluded.

It did this only with the latest version.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 03:49 PM   #8
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

OK User settings are instant.

It is 23 seconds to open System settings

ESET NOD32 version 12 A/V
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 01:27 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,066
Default

which folders did you exclude from Nod32?

in EDIUS help menu, generate a system report and attach here
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 07:05 PM   #10
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 425
Default

Is it just mp4, what about other source files? I've also had problems with the space bar for stop in this version of Edius. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. When I updated to this version of Edius I had to reset my Quick Sync, until I did I was having all manner of slow and crashing interface.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius WG 9.40.5106 Crespel Editing with EDIUS 5 07-04-2019 10:38 PM
HDV M2T files play laggy 9.40.4896 createmedia Editing with EDIUS 10 07-04-2019 03:26 PM
flickering images with 9.40 4896 Jean Bernard Editing with EDIUS 10 06-01-2019 05:52 PM
Edius 9.40.4896 GrassValley_SL Editing with EDIUS 0 05-23-2019 05:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.