Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2018, 04:43 PM   #1
virgil21
Senior Member
 
virgil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 115
Default External Monitor overlay

I am using Edius 9 Workgroup under Windows 10 output via an Intensity Pro to an external monitor.

I was hoping to see overlay on the external monitor.

I have set \User\Preview\Overlay\Guidelines\13:9 and I can see the overlay on my computer preview.

Have I just not found the right setting yet?

Or, is it not possible to see those Guidelines on the external monitor?
__________________
DVC custom desktop; Intel i7-5930K @3.50GHz; 32GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX1080Ti; BM Intensity Pro; Edius 9 WG; DaVinci Resolve Studio; Windows 10 Pro.
virgil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 06:31 PM   #2
virgil21
Senior Member
 
virgil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 115
Default Full screen overlay

And I have just noticed that I cannot even see the overlay guides when I output the Full Screen Preview to my second computer desktop monitor.

Not good. Not good!
__________________
DVC custom desktop; Intel i7-5930K @3.50GHz; 32GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX1080Ti; BM Intensity Pro; Edius 9 WG; DaVinci Resolve Studio; Windows 10 Pro.
virgil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 10:24 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,630
Default

View menu, onscreen display, select PC monitor/external monitor in order to see overlay on BM card output

the EDIUS full screen preview does not show guides
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 11:51 PM   #4
virgil21
Senior Member
 
virgil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 115
Default Overlay still not there

Anton, thank you.

I tried your suggestion but that menu item is greyed out even though External Output is ticked. I cannot seem to be able to change it (and I did not tick it in the first place as I wasn't aware of it).

Control+G for Status works fine.

A screen grab has been attached here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edius Menu.jpg (66.3 KB, 17 views)
__________________
DVC custom desktop; Intel i7-5930K @3.50GHz; 32GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX1080Ti; BM Intensity Pro; Edius 9 WG; DaVinci Resolve Studio; Windows 10 Pro.
virgil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 06:18 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,630
Default

after testing I found that status needs to be enabled to see TC and VU on external mon, however, guides will not be shown

the same happens in EDIUS7, and 8
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 09:52 AM   #6
virgil21
Senior Member
 
virgil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
after testing I found that status needs to be enabled to see TC and VU on external mon, however, guides will not be shown

the same happens in EDIUS7, and 8
Thank you for going to that trouble.

Time to make a feature request then?
__________________
DVC custom desktop; Intel i7-5930K @3.50GHz; 32GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX1080Ti; BM Intensity Pro; Edius 9 WG; DaVinci Resolve Studio; Windows 10 Pro.
virgil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 09:56 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,630
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by virgil21 View Post
Time to make a feature request then?
that is a good idea, unless it is already requested?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:19 PM   #8
virgil21
Senior Member
 
virgil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 115
Talking Beat me to it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
that is a good idea, unless it is already requested?
Did you then? Wouldn't surprise me!
__________________
DVC custom desktop; Intel i7-5930K @3.50GHz; 32GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX1080Ti; BM Intensity Pro; Edius 9 WG; DaVinci Resolve Studio; Windows 10 Pro.
virgil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 06:18 PM   #9
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by virgil21 View Post
Anton, thank you.

I tried your suggestion but that menu item is greyed out even though External Output is ticked. I cannot seem to be able to change it (and I did not tick it in the first place as I wasn't aware of it).

Control+G for Status works fine.

A screen grab has been attached here.
Those settings will be greyed out if the timecode is not being displayed. Turn it on and they will be live.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080ti SC Black, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 12:39 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,630
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
Those settings will be greyed out if the timecode is not being displayed. Turn it on and they will be live.
yes, but you won't be able to show the guides on external mon or EDIUS full screen preview

some users may want to position titles while looking at guides on external mon but this is not possible
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50Hz on Overlay monitor? MytByte Editing with EDIUS 4 10-18-2010 10:05 PM
not having external monitor in 5.0 annoying?? jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 24 12-08-2008 09:33 AM
Viewing external Monitor LWGray Editing with EDIUS 7 10-03-2007 04:46 AM
lost external monitor dlucas Editing with EDIUS 0 08-12-2007 04:10 AM
third monitor with overlay aldigitalguy Editing with EDIUS 3 05-21-2007 03:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.