Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
mrmidi
Member
 
mrmidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 66
Default EDIUS 6 freezing

I have been having a number of stability issues after upgrading to EDIUS 6 back in the Fall of 2011.

I have installed the various EDIUS 6 upgrades since 6.01 release and have just installed the 6.07 upgrade - hoping it might fix the problem.

The most notable issues has to do w/ exporting an MPEG-2 program stream file. Whenever I attempt to export an MPEG-2 file - the system "hangs" and becomes completely unresponsive. . . . requiring a complete power off. It will get 7% or 14% - then just becomes "stuck" and no further progress occurs.

The Project Settings are for 1920x1080 generic. The source files are Panasonic DVCProHD from P2 cards. I have also tried using the 1280x1080 DVCProHD settings for the EDIUS project - but still has the same issue.

I have also installed VisTitle 1.8 and NewBlue TitlerPro 1.0 on this system.

Everything was running smoothly for me on EDIUS 5.5 - but EDIUS 6 not so much.

System is: ASUS P6T Motherboard, NVidia GTS450 Graphics, Intel Corei7 QuadCore CPU, WD Caviar Blue 250GB System Drive, WD Caviar Black 1TB Media Disk, 550W Antec PSU, Windows 7 (32 bit)
mrmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 04:46 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,823
Default

what type of antivirus or anti spyware/malware software is installed and running?

the mpeg exporter requires all cores at 100% and any of the above may prevent that
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 10:24 PM   #3
mrmidi
Member
 
mrmidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 66
Default EDIUS 6 Freeze

I have Microsoft Security Essentials installed on this system.
mrmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:11 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmidi View Post
I have Microsoft Security Essentials installed on this system.
does it allow you to exclude the entire EDIUS installation folder and the media drive from being scanned? if not, remove it from your system and use something that does allow this like Eset Nod 32
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/e...exclusions.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:43 AM   #5
mrmidi
Member
 
mrmidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 66
Default

Ok. I will check that out. Thanks.
mrmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:07 PM   #6
mrmidi
Member
 
mrmidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 66
Default

I just removed it altogether - then rebooted - but unfortunately, no change. EDIUS 6 is still hanging whenever I go to export MPEG-2 HD files.
mrmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:26 AM   #7
Alade
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 818
Default

You should check your graphic card drivers, or save the project as and re-install edius, making checks as you update....I find that sometimes windows does not install thing properly all the time.....and a re-install helps


Just a tip
Alade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 02:05 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,823
Default

for good EDIUS install, always empty hidden temp folder first and make sure no antivirus is running

then reboot and empty temp folder

make sure no antivirus running

apply update to EDIUS
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:14 AM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,478
Default

Are you overclocking by chance?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:36 AM   #10
GrassValley_UP
Grass Valley
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Default

Hello,

Maybe it helps to RESET EDIUS:

I would suggest to do the following:

Start the Windows Explorer and go to the folder C:\User\username\AppData\Roaming.

There should be a folder Canopus or Grass Valley. Please delete that folder with all the sub folders.
The folder could not be visible. Then you have to change the folder options in the control panel.

Go to Hidden files and folders and change the option to „Show hidden files, folders and drives“.

It will delete also some of your user defined settings!
GrassValley_UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius freezing comp... NoobieGuy Editing with EDIUS 5 01-08-2011 04:56 AM
Edius still freezing? Mark Editing with EDIUS 3 03-11-2010 04:29 AM
Edius Freezing? Mark Editing with EDIUS 9 02-25-2010 09:29 AM
EDIUS FREEZING on playback emvp Editing with EDIUS 1 01-10-2008 05:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.