Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 11:44 AM   #1
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default H264 bluray compliant - Better than procoder ?

Hi there,

I've been using Procoder for years to encoding Mpeg2 DVD, and if I've been really happy so far with it, It seems outdated for H264 bluray compliant encoding.

So I'm looking for a nice software which give me great encoding results, for japanese anime bluray.

Thanks for your advice.
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:29 PM   #2
4Kover3D
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default

Cinemacraft HD or you can try x264- but it's not that great for preserving gradients.
4Kover3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:22 PM   #3
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default

Cinemacraft is too expensive, and I don't know if it's me, but I've never succeed to get nice results with the SP version.
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:41 PM   #4
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Why not use Edius 6.06?
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 05:06 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,462
Default

Procoder 3.06 will do mp4 and h.264.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:00 PM   #6
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

Is there any major update planned ? With native Blu-Ray presets

Thanks.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:09 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,462
Default

Don't expect an update. You might want to look into
other alternatives if you are using h.264.
1. Tmpge
2. Firecoder blu card
3. Build a z68 system for encoding. I can put one
together for around $500.

Just some options.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:57 PM   #8
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,930
Default

I have encoded BluRay compliant streams with x264 succesfully!

reference encoding profiles can be found here:
http://www.x264bluray.com/
__________________
Andreas Gumm
post production / authoring
PC 1Intel Core i7-970 (6 x 3.20 GHz),
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, 12 GB RAM, Geforce 9800GT
Windows 7 Ultimate,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, VisTitle v2.5,
GV hardware: 3G Storm
software SONY DoStudio Indie + EX 4.0.11
PC 2
Intel Core i7-3770, GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H F14, 16GB RAM,
Geforce 650 GTX, 5x HDD, Windows 7,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, ProCoder 3.0
GV hardware: HD SPARK
software: Telestream Switch, DTS-HD MAS, Dolby Media Meter
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H264 and Procoder 3, My adventurers cmedico ProCoder 0 12-31-2009 04:29 PM
ProCoder and Bluray rando ProCoder 6 03-08-2009 02:01 PM
Edius/Procoder to H264? Mike Truly ProCoder 5 02-06-2009 02:44 AM
Unable to create a compliant mpeg for DVIT Dany63 ProCoder 2 02-24-2008 07:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.