Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2010, 01:22 PM   #1
cakewalkr7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 6
Default odd behavior playing clips

I have only been using edius neo for a short time as it came with my panasonic camera and seems to be the only editing software I have that reads original timecode information. I have a number of clips that I have to render with in and out times. When I open the clip I paste in the in and out point in the source window and then select the overwrite to timeline button. When I click the play button the timecode runs through fine but it's playing at about 2-3 frames a second instead of the 24fps. I've tried exporting both the video and audio hoping it was just some display issue but the rendered file is the same way. Does anyone know why it does this and how I can fix it? Thanks.
cakewalkr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:35 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,820
Default

could we have your computer specs and edius version number

also, which internal hard disk are the files playing from? hopefully not the C drive
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:43 PM   #3
cakewalkr7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 6
Default

I just upgraded to 2.01 in hopes that that might fix it but it didn't. My computer is a quad 2.33ghz xeon with 8 gb ram, 64 bit windows 7 and the files are on my raid drive not the C drive. If I read the files directly from the camera instead of from the raid drive I get the same behavior so it's not the drive it's on.

What's odd is that if I don't specify a range to add to the timeline but add the entire clip it plays just fine. Unfortunately when I do that I no longer have the original timecode displayed so I can't do any precise editing.
cakewalkr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:48 PM   #4
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Any change your files are AVCHD, then you'll need to move on to (paid) Neo 2.5 upgrade to have RT playback or use the free AVCHDtoHQ converter.

You'll need a up to date pc to play AVCHD in RT, even with booster installed (or Edius 5.5)
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:00 PM   #5
cakewalkr7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 6
Default

It is AVCHD. No offense but that doesn't make sense. Why did the software come with the camera when that's the only format the camera records? And I've been using the software for a couple of months now and it has worked fine. It just started doing this yesterday.
cakewalkr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:07 PM   #6
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

If the files are AVCHD how can it be that without booster or Edius 5.5 you are able to play it RealTime before ?
I have to admit, I use Edius and are not aware of the Neo .dot updates and what they Fix/break.
Until anyone with Neo (Hans are you here :)) answers this question from User experience you might want to revert back to before the update.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:29 PM   #7
cakewalkr7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry if I confused you earlier with my post. It started doing this before I updated the software. I only updated the software to the latest version in hopes that that would fix it but it didn't.
cakewalkr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:34 PM   #8
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Very strange, because you need Neo version 2.5 to be able to play AVCHD files in realtime.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #9
cakewalkr7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 6
Default

Then I'm absolutely stumped. When I run the program and go to help>version info it clearly says 2.01 yet it plays the entire clips just fine. It just won't play a sectioned part of the clip. I wonder why panasonic would have bundled this with the camera if it isn't the proper software for it. Oh well, guess I'll have to contact them. Thanks.
cakewalkr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 04:32 PM   #10
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

What Panny camera are you using then?
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd-looking film lukasz.c Editing with EDIUS 6 05-14-2010 09:18 PM
DVD Creator odd picon behavior ken7 Editing with EDIUS 10 06-06-2008 04:10 AM
Multicam issue: one of the two clips is playing the audio track at a slower speed Matt Editing with EDIUS 5 12-15-2007 07:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.