Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 09:18 AM   #11
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

for these kind of files you need Edius 2.5 booster or wait for Edius6 or an Edius5 update, whatever may come first?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:00 AM   #12
Stereodesign
Senior Member
 
Stereodesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: York
Posts: 254
Default

Expanding on what Anton says above.
Convert to Canopus HQ. Should have no problems then.
__________________
System 1 - Win7 64/Edius 5.51/Asus P8/8Gb RAM/RAID0/i7 2600K OC/nVidia Quadra 600
System 2 - Win XP/Edius v4.61/Asus P5 DH Deluxe/4Gb RAM/RAID0/Quad Core 2.4Ghz Q6600/nVidia 9800GT 512Mb/NXHD + other stuff
Stereodesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:03 AM   #13
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

yes, and the conversion tool is part of Edius and is called AVCHD converter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:32 AM   #14
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

Won't converting to Canopus HQ be down grading the HD quality? Is this a temporary conversion just so Edius can work with editing the files (like a proxy) or is it permanently converting the files? I need the final output to be FULL HD.
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:43 AM   #15
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
Won't converting to Canopus HQ be down grading the HD quality? Is this a temporary conversion just so Edius can work with editing the files (like a proxy) or is it permanently converting the files? I need the final output to be FULL HD.
there is 0.00000% loss when converting to CanopusHQ

there is 100% gain in realtime performance when converting to CanopusHQ
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:46 AM   #16
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

Just one last thing... are you saying by my attachment that I have AVCHD native files?
Also, When working with DV projects I see CanopusHQ all over the place. Is there a CanopusHQ for DV and a different CanopusHQ for HD? Or will Canopus know what I need when I choose CanopusHQ?
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:48 AM   #17
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

it certainly looks like it, and if not, mp4 is not a typical editing format for Edius
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:49 AM   #18
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

If mp4 is not typical for editing with Edius, should we use Quicktime format when shooting?
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:50 AM   #19
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

in any case, once you convert them to CanopusHQ you will be in heaven and Edius will be your friend for a long time
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:52 AM   #20
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
If mp4 is not typical for editing with Edius, should we use Quicktime format when shooting?
typical native editing formats for Edius are XDCAM, XDCAM HD, P2, DV, DVCAM, DVCPRO, DVCPRO HD
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I increase the speed in Multicam mode on EDIUS 5.x ? nevodavid Editing with EDIUS 1 08-10-2009 10:44 PM
CPU Speed Increase - FREE zoolane Editing with EDIUS 87 11-21-2008 06:54 AM
Edius 5 Memory setting (buffer size) Albatros Editing with EDIUS 2 11-03-2008 04:44 PM
buffer settings RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 3 08-09-2007 11:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.