Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2009, 07:46 PM   #1
marcal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Acworth, Ga.
Posts: 4
Default Picture Controller - No Preview

I'm looking for some troubleshooting suggestions.
I've lost the Preview Window in Picture Controller. When I open the preview window it say's "Can't start preview". It used to work but I don't know when I lost it.
The ADVC300 is functional. All of the control settings still work.(brightness, saturation, etc). The preview in Edius works.
The OS is W2K Pro Sp4. Video is embedded ATI Rage XL. I noticed that in the ATI control panel the overlay controls are grayed out. Don't know if they've always been like that, but re-installing vid drivers didn't help.

Any ideas?
marcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:04 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Did that configuration ever work? I suspect that the Hardware Video Overlay is not available. Try downloading the most recent version of DirectX for Windows 2000 and see that if that helps. After installing DirectX, try running DXDIAG.EXE and make sure all the tests in the Video tab pass.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

IIRC Rage XL only supports one or two of the many video overlay methods.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:12 PM   #4
marcal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Acworth, Ga.
Posts: 4
Default

Been a while since I've used it, but yes it did work in the past. Already checked dxdiag and all tests passed. (DirectX ver. 9.0c).

Tnkx
marcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:15 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Check your resolution and color depth. Start with 1024x768, 32bpp (or 24bpp if it doesn't support 32 at that resolution).
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
marcal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Acworth, Ga.
Posts: 4
Default

It's always been at 1024 x 768 @ 32k bpp. Have tried all the setting for the acceleration slider bar. No luck. I think I'll try 800x600 and see if the memory saving has any effect.

Tnkx for the feedback.
marcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:03 PM   #7
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

You said the preview in Edius works, but not the one in Picture Controller. Are you running both at the same time, or possibly another program that uses the Hardware Video Overlay? Picture Controller can't use the Hardware Video Overlay if another program has already claimed it.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:41 PM   #8
marcal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Acworth, Ga.
Posts: 4
Default

No, I didn't have 2 progs running at the same time.
Can't think of anything else to try besides a new vid card. Wish I knew for sure whether this vid chipset used to have overlay controls or not. Ohh well.
marcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:51 PM   #9
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

What is the position of the Hardware Acceleration slider? It's been a while since I looked at Windows 2000, but in the Control Panel, under Display -> Advanced -> Adapter (I think), you can adjust the acceleration level. See if changing it makes a difference.

Another thing you could try is to uninstall the ATI drivers and see if the ones that Microsoft provides with the OS (or an older version of the ATI drivers) will get the hardware video overlay to work.

If you try older drivers from ATI, make sure that they are WHQL (Windows Hardware Quality Lab) certified.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture Controller cannot find ADVC-300 saunan ADVC 13 09-01-2011 12:30 AM
Mac OS X 10.5.4 and picture controller will not mount kkbird ADVC 8 07-23-2010 01:09 AM
ADVC 300 Picture Controller Utility Aristotelis ADVC 12 06-13-2010 10:36 AM
ADVC Picture Controller interface horse ADVC 2 08-25-2008 10:59 AM
Picture Controller Preview gemmtn ADVC 3 05-24-2007 02:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.