Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 03:24 AM   #1
acemedusa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default To Canopus or not to Canopus

Have done most of my vhs transfers with the ADVC 300 and they turned out great. And now about to start on my 8mm, Hi8 collection.

Now my question is whether I should run my camcorder using s-video into the canopus or just connect the firewire cable direct from my cam into the computer instead for tranfering?
acemedusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 06:20 AM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,570
Default

If you have a device that outputs DV via Firewire, just use that. The ADVC 300 can pass through the signal from another DV device, but a) some software doesn't handle multiple DV devices on the same bus correctly, and b) the ADVC doesn't do anything to enhance the DV output from the other device.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 07:07 AM   #3
acemedusa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Ok,I have tried 2 tapes out. One ok, and the other looks faded a bit in colour due to age I'd say. I took your advice and went direct from cam to computer using firewire and all worked well.

I know the ADVC 300 can enhance colour,picture etc,but if I'm not using it can neo2 help me with this? (I have only just installed neo the trial. Not up and properly running yet)

Last edited by acemedusa; 08-01-2009 at 08:26 AM.
acemedusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 12:55 PM   #4
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

If your tapes really are Hi8 and not Digital8, it sounds to me like you're playing them on a Digital8 camera, and relying on the camera to convert the Hi8 analog signal to DV. If that is the case, you MAY get a slightly better conversion by connecting the S-video from the camera to the ADVC300. It's a matter of trying both to see what's better. Make sure you burn a captured clip to DVD and view it on your TV as that will be the definitive test.

Ken.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:58 PM   #5
acemedusa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default

I'm transferring just regular 8mm tapes at present through a sony video walkman (it plays video 8,hi8,dig8) via the dv output. Looks ok so far. Will try the S-video through the canopus out tomorrow. Thanks
acemedusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 04:30 AM   #6
acemedusa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Did a test with s-video and found the picture to be a bit more unstable. I also turned off the TBC and noise red on the video player while running it through the canopus.
acemedusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HQ Codec OR other Canopus codecs in Mac? asoodmand Editing with EDIUS 7 02-25-2010 04:31 PM
Canopus avi - advantageous or not GuyS Editing with EDIUS 12 05-28-2009 12:55 AM
Canopus HQ vs MPEG TS haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 11 05-25-2009 12:04 PM
Canopus SoftDVSD & Canopus HQ encoder lordxemperor Editing with EDIUS 1 12-04-2007 05:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.