Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
adagio1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3
Default ADVC110 and 6-pin IEEE1394 problem

Hello!
I have got ADVC110, which I connect to my Mac Pro via 6-pin to 6-pin IEEE1394 cable for capturing VHS material in Final Cut Pro. I have no power adapter, so this port provides the power and DV signal. Some time ago Final Cut stopped recognize the converter via 6-pin IEEE1394. The power suply is still ok, but there is no DV signal. Now I have to connect 6-pin cable for power suply and 4-pin cable for DV signal. I think, that something is wrong with 6-pin port in converter. Maybe I should update some firmware to get this work again?
Please let me know, what can I do to repair it?
Thank you in advance for your help!
Adam
adagio1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 06:23 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Let me make sure I am understanding correctly.

OK:
Mac 6-pin FW --- ADVC 4-pin via 6-pin to 4-pin FW cable
and
Mac 6-pin FW --- ADVC 6-pin FW via 6-pin to 6-pin FW cable


NG: (No Good)
Mac 6-pin FW --- ADVC 6-pin via 6-pin to 6-pin FW cable


If this is the case, the problem could be the 6-pin to 6-pin FW cable, the 6-pin port on the ADVC, or the port on the Mac.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

Do I undestand correctly that it worked with the same Mac Pro using a 6-pin cable in the past?

And the it now works, but only if you connect two cables?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 07:08 PM   #4
adagio1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, that's right. I've tried different 6-6 FW cables, also different port on the Mac. So I suppose it's 6-pin port on the ADVC :( It's out of warranty, so is it possible to check and repleace this port with working one?
adagio1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 07:10 PM   #5
adagio1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, it worked correctly in the past. And now it works correctly, but only if I connect second cable.
adagio1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:49 PM   #6
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

Might be simpler to try an external power supply.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:08 PM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Another thing to try is to completely remove power to both the Mac and ADVC for at least 30 seconds, then reapply power and try again. Most Firewire interfaces have resettable fuses, but in order to reset the fuse, power must be completely removed, simply shutting down the computer is often not enough.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
110 + 6 pin to 9 pin + MacPro/iMovie9 = almost total frame freeze!! Headshot ADVC 1 10-18-2010 07:17 PM
Capturing DV with IEEE1394 Issue dkichenside Editing with EDIUS 14 02-06-2010 02:25 PM
ADVC110 Color problem Rappman ADVC 3 09-14-2009 12:05 AM
ADVC110 Audio Problem Darin ADVC 2 02-14-2008 11:21 PM
Difference between ADVC1394 and standard IEEE1394 PORT fiuzatec ADVC 1 07-09-2007 04:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.