Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2007, 04:18 AM   #1
cupar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Configuration

Hi,

I just purchased a ADVC110. I have a Sony Digital 8 Trv350 camcorder. It will play 8mm analog and digtal tapes. I'm having a problem capturing thru the ADVC110 to my computer. I've used Windows movie maker and Pinnacle 10.5 to capture, but all I get is a blank screen. How do I interface to the ADVC110 then to my computer?

This is what I have tried:

DV out from camcorder to Dv in/out of ADVC110 (front panel), Dv in/out (6pin) to firewire connection on my computer. No Luck.

Any help would be appreciated.

thx,

cupar
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:21 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

not sure why you wish to involve the ADVC110 for firewire capture? you can go from camera direct to firewire card of PC
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:39 PM   #3
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

As I understand it, and as it has been explained to me, the front DV port on the ADVC-110 is a hit-or-miss connection when it comes to connecting a DV (firewire) camera for pass-through. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes it works but you lose device/deck control. You could just be one of the unlucky ones.

But I do want to mirror Anton's statement--if you already have a camera that outputs DV by firewire, the ADVC is unnecessary.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:56 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_CP View Post
As I understand it, and as it has been explained to me, the front DV port on the ADVC-110 is a hit-or-miss connection when it comes to connecting a DV (firewire) camera for pass-through.
It's a matter of...
  1. Whether the software being used for capture supports addressing specific DV devices on the FireWire bus when there's more than one DV device.
  2. Whether the ADVC "sees" that a DV camera and computer is connected, and "hides" itself. Most often this works for Sony camcorders, but is still subject to #1.
Most software is not properly designed to handle more than one DV device on the bus, so essentially there's a routing issue. Device control might go to the camera, while the video stream might go to the ADVC, or vice-versa.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is better a raid configuration or single disks working in an edius sp system? mikemachine Editing with EDIUS 25 05-27-2009 12:41 AM
New system build - RAID 0 Drive questions bseidner EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 71 03-04-2009 01:56 AM
new PC configuration and possible issues fluppe85 Editing with EDIUS 6 09-25-2008 07:12 PM
Is this a good Laptop Configuration? DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 21 06-06-2008 06:02 PM
Hard drive configuration drgagx Editing with EDIUS 3 02-12-2008 08:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.