Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2019, 03:25 AM   #1
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 257
Default EDIUS rendered MPEG4's on USB >>TV playback issues

I film dance concerts and supply dance studios MPEG4 clips on USB.

I'm trying to produce the best possible picture quality for customers but don't want the hassle of having people contact me with "The USB won't play on my TV" scenario. I have two concerts coming up for large size studios who commonly order about 130 USB's of their christmas concert from me.

History tells me that getting even a handful of returns is irritating for myself, the studio and the customer.

My experience tells me the following;


1280x720 50P - No playback issues

1920x1080 50i - about 15% of people's TV won't play

1920x1080 50P - about 15% of people's TV won't play

1920x1080 25P - Haven't experimented with this res yet.

Is there anyone out there that does similar work and has experience with this?

HANDBRAKE: I thought I read on another thread someone suggesting that re encoding with Handbrake may result in better playback. It will be a great shame if I have to go back to 720 50P.

Thanks


Martin.
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 04:53 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,114
Default

I deliver 1920x1080 50i on USB encoded via Handbrake with tff=1 in extra options field

tff=1 means top field first

I delivered over 1000 USB with only 6 returns

the returns were caused by the following:

user 1 removes USB from PC without safely remove and lends it to user 2
user 2 inserts this USB in Mac and the Mac says that the USB was not correctly ejected, would you like to format
user 2 says yes
user 2 then discovers there is nothing on the USB and returns it to user 1
user 1 then calls me and says there is nothing on the USB

what we need is an erase protection switch

if a TV can't handle 50i, then that TV will be useless for most Australian TV shows like sports etc.
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 03:37 PM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
what we need is an erase protection switch
How' about this for future use?

https://www.kanguru.com/storage-acce...xoCSMgQAvD_BwE

Being in the "land down under" you might even fund the name and logo fitting. ;-)
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:51 PM   #4
LewS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lake Worth FL
Posts: 528
Default

You could use the DOS Diskpart command to write protect them. Here is some info.

https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001617.htm

You could probably write a batch file to automate this.
__________________
Edius Workgroup 9.51, Intel I7-3930K 3.20GHz, Intel X79 MB, 16-GB Mem, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, BM Mini-Monitor (HD) Card, Win 10 Pro
LewS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 11:21 PM   #5
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 257
Default 1080 50i or 1080 50P

So Anton you would shoot in 1080 50i in the first place?

And why go to Handbrake and not just use the MPEG4 1080 50i files straight from Edius?

What about people playing 1080 50i on a computer? Won't the footage look interlaced and so the edges and movement has a harsh edge?

Last edited by Hutch TV; 11-10-2019 at 11:39 PM.
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 11:28 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch TV View Post
Hi Anton

So you would shoot in 1080 50i in the first place?

What about people playing 1080 50i on a computer? Won't the footage look interlaced and so the edges and movement has a harsh edge?

yes, I shoot 50i

50i looks fine on PC, maybe they use the wrong player if it looks bad

Media Player Classic shows no issues
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 11:42 PM   #7
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 257
Default Handbrake for Edius MPEG4's??

And the reason to go through the extra step and use Handbrake to do the final encoding?
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 11:56 PM   #8
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

handbrake does a better job then edius.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:43 AM   #9
Hutch TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 257
Default Handbrake v Edius MPEG4's

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
handbrake does a better job then edius.
What do you mean exactly? I loathe doing a second process.

Handbrake is though very quick at encoding.
Hutch TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:19 AM   #10
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,884
Default

Questions, not answers!

Do some TV have issues with files larger than 2 GB or with xFAT?
Do all 1280x720 native TVs also do full HD (1920x1080)?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transition->GPU->Advanced->Transform issue dwierman Editing with EDIUS 0 07-15-2014 09:15 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.