Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2019, 10:21 AM   #1
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default Primary Color Correction in Edius 9 bug.

I am quite sure, that I am not the only one who has recognized the anomaly in the Primary Color Correction tool.
If you drag the RGB sliders individually in one direction, the other RGB sliders will also move. It is very annoying. Everything works fine in Edius 8.
Is the release date of the next update already known? I need this function for a current project.
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG

Last edited by nictau; 06-04-2019 at 10:28 AM.
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 10:32 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,651
Default

this is normal, it is the same in EDIUS8

if you say reduce red, it will alter the green and blue, there is no other way
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 11:46 AM   #3
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
this is normal, it is the same in EDIUS8

if you say reduce red, it will alter the green and blue, there is no other way
Anton, try to move JUST the red, blue or green in E8. The other RGB sliders stay where they are. Not so in E9.

See the comparison pics taken from E8 and E9.
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG

Last edited by nictau; 06-04-2019 at 12:00 PM.
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 12:02 PM   #4
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

See the comparison pics taken from E8 and E9.
In both programs I have just moved the blue slider.
Attached Images
File Type: png PCC RGB anomaly.png (37.4 KB, 50 views)
File Type: png PCC RGB anomaly Edius9.png (41.1 KB, 49 views)
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 12:07 PM   #5
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nictau View Post
See the comparison pics taken from E8 and E9.
In both programs I have just moved the blue slider.

Thats interesting. I didnt realize that difference between 8 and 9.
But I think I should like the 8-Method?
Why not ???
Any Ideas?
Thanks kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.40 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 12:32 PM   #6
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

I don't drag the sliders - it is too inaccurate. I create a LUT outside of EDIUS and load that using PCC ... works much better.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 12:58 PM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nictau View Post
See the comparison pics taken from E8 and E9.
In both programs I have just moved the blue slider.
from your screenshots, it looks like you want to change color temp, why not drag the color temp slider

it appears EDIUS8 had a bug then because if I reduce blue, it will alter the remaining values

or maybe it is the other way and 9 has a bug
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 01:06 PM   #8
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
or maybe it is the other way and 9 has a bug
The way E8 is handling it makes much more sense and is more precise.

Grass Valley - any opinion?
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 02:27 PM   #9
franceschilla5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 21
Default

it is a bug because the variation if done several times by raising to the maximum a value of a color the other two colors will have almost always different values
franceschilla5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 02:29 PM   #10
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franceschilla5 View Post
it is a bug because the variation if done several times by raising to the maximum a value of a color the other two colors will have almost always different values
Confirmed.
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primary Color Correction Kaj44 Editing with EDIUS 9 11-01-2017 04:23 PM
Primary Color Correction Edius 8 koltsov Editing with EDIUS 15 06-01-2017 04:15 PM
Primary Color Correction no Color wheels Fred Dwyer Editing with EDIUS 3 10-11-2016 03:10 PM
Primary Color Correction Claire Editing with EDIUS 37 06-13-2016 03:51 PM
Primary Color correction in edius 8.2? Santy Editing with EDIUS 3 04-29-2016 09:17 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.