Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2019, 07:47 PM   #31
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,778
Default

Main use for my PC is EDIUS so comparisons with other applications is not as consuming as with EDIUS. However I do use Resolve Studio for some things and Vegas for audio. I did not notice any real difference in either of these apps during this strange period. EDIUS seems to have been affected more significantly. Would often get me to blue screen the moment I tried to load it. Got very frustrating. I still feel performance has dropped though it is now usable. Never used to use proxy files but have given up and now use for the last project 2 1/2 hours with two tracks of UHD from GH5 and GH5S that proved too much even at 1/2 preview resolution .

I do not like the multicam in Resolve Studio though it will play multicam with native files at full resolution and frame rate for the same project that I need full proxies and still 1/2 resolution preview in EDIUS 8.53 and with significantly less resource used for CPU and GPU. That is an enormous performance difference. Not sure whether that is the way EDIUS works with AMD CPU or use of 1080Ti GPU for certain tasks. Since I have EDIUS 8.53 still on my second PC a 4790K I know the performance difference is slight between them for EDIUS but enormous difference with Resolve which clearly uses all the available resource from the Threadripper and 1080Ti and on the 4790K with just the on board GPU is really not usable for Resolve.

I do not have any separate virus checking on the PC only Defender if I forget to switch it off !! This PC does nothing else but edit so no browsing or mail etc as that is all done on a separate PC. Defender is on when I do updates to any of the software.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 02:33 AM   #32
MicK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trillium View Post
This sounds remarkably similar to the problems I've had since updating to 9.40- lockups and slow, sticky timeline behaviors.
You are right... I'm very upset with last update. Since I can't find any hardware problems, I guess that the problem is the Canopus Edius himself.
Finished one job in last Premiere 2019. Even I have a very old and slow graphic card,the Premiere CC 2019 is way faster and stable then Edius. With Premiere I don't have any freezes,crashes or delays. Everything is work just perfect. I spoke with the "support". They engineers will charge me $280 per hour. Very expensive help and I'm very upset! All those years I was very happy with Edius.
MicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 03:52 AM   #33
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Why don't you guys just bring the clock back down - so you don't toast the CPU - and try again? I had zero problems with EDIUS on my P72 (running the latest WIN 10 upgrades) and the older W540 (running Windows 7) to date. I am now shifting all the production workload to the new P72 - and will remove EDIUS from W540 once I have shifted all the software over.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 04:18 AM   #34
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Why don't you guys just bring the clock back down - so you don't toast the CPU - and try again? I had zero problems with EDIUS on my P72 (running the latest WIN 10 upgrades) and the older W540 (running Windows 7) to date.
What do you mean bring the clock back down. I am running at stock rate of 3.7, no boost at all and my temps are fine and a lot less than I used to see with my 4790K. The max I see under heavy encoding is 48C that's not bad is it ? I think the point I am making and others is that other software on the same machine with the same files runs fine and faster with less resource. Honestly I am glad I stayed with 8.53 and choose to spend less money on an upgrade to Vegas 16 and buy Resolve Studio. I will see what EDIUS 10 brings as I see no reason to invest in EDIUS 9 from the comments on the forum and it has less capability than the combination that I have now.

I am still a fan of EDIUS just a little annoyed with its performance, that used to be in the lead, looks like it has faded a great deal when dealing with UHD files especially on non QS cpu's. It needs to exploit the fast GPU's from NVIDIA and AMD just like Premiere and Resolve to regain its position. As an example Resolve is faster creating a HQX file from a UHD 60P file from my GH5 than doing it in the bin in EDIUS. That is silly !!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:01 AM   #35
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Hi Ron,

I am not referring to you :-). Am asking MicK and trillium to try (if they are currently over clocking their CPU).
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 01:35 PM   #36
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,778
Default

I don't think their temp is high it is just the temp measuring software is wrong. That is why I asked them to use Ryzen Master from AMD. I fully expect then that the max they will see is around 50C. If more then they do have a cpu cooler problem that needs to be fixed.

I suspect that EDIUS is not using AMD parts like they do Intel. I still wonder why EDIUS uses so much of my 1080Ti when I have no filters applied.

Same UHD 60P 8bit 150Mbps from GH5 file in a 1920x1080 60P project.

EDIUS on Threadripper CPU 61%, GPU 40%
Resolve on Threadripper CPU 22% GPU 20%
EDIUS on 4790K CPU 80% Intel GPU 48% plays full speed after buffer fills.

My 4790K is running stock at 4.0 so not really that much faster than the Threadripper that has 3 times as many cores and the 1080Ti that is many times more powerful than the internal graphics in the 4790K. Clearly demonstrated by how Resolve uses that resource.

I think EDIUS needs some work to fully utilize the available resource in modern processors from AMD as well as Intel. I expect the absolute best performance from EDIUS will be from the Intel 9900K to use QS for decode and a fast GPU to manage filters. Would be interesting to see performance comparisons though for resource use.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 04:09 PM   #37
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Looks like the compiler they use is producing codes that are optimised for the INTEL CPU only.

When I play back (with no filters on the timeline) 1920 x 1080 videos in MP4 format - Task Mgr says 20% CPU with GPU usage.

Going up to 4K - surprisingly, CPU is only 30%. My guess is that a lot of processing is offloaded to the GPU rather than using CPU.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 05:32 PM   #38
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,778
Default

Yes I think you may be correct. Clearly any of the large core count Threadrippers and a 1080Ti should outperform an integrated Intel part. Maybe an improvement by EDIUS 10. By then AMD may be a very dominant supplier if it carries on grabbing share from Intel like it has over the past year. The new Ryzen 3000 series with up to 16 cores and PCI 4.0 and likely even more cores when the 7nm Threadrippers come out later this year or early next year will be a formidable portfolio . When the Threadrippers actually appear with 7nm I expect them be 16, 24, 32 and 64 core CPU's

Quick test of HD file as you have mentioned.

EDIUS mp4 version CPU 18% GPU 35%
EDIUS source file of the mp4 in XAVC-S from the AX100 CPU 18 GPU 38 so not a lot of difference

Resolve Studio 16 both mp4 and source XAVC-S files performed the same with CPU 7% GPU 16%
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 06-06-2019 at 05:54 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 05:56 PM   #39
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Unfortunately - that's applicable only for desktops. I haven't heard of AMD processors on laptops that's found in major laptop manufacturers like DELL, HP, and Lenovo.

The issue for AMD here - they might have superior h/w - but if developers don't bother to exploit it - well .......
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 06:07 PM   #40
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,778
Default

Maybe the parts that will be used in the new PS4 etc will become available. They are supposed to be part of the new 3000 series and the new GPU Navi. We will have to see. I have no interest myself in laptops so only follow desktops.

I think there are many Resolve users with Threadrippers since they can have a lot of PCI lanes for several GPU's. From my results it works very well for my system. If the Resolve multicam was better it may change what I use as Resolve is far better for image correction or even using Fusion as an alternative to AE.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Sync not working on New i7 computer Thomas Eduis EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 6 12-31-2018 11:04 AM
Programs on your computer can not see Canopus codecs Russlav Editing with EDIUS 15 07-18-2016 04:46 AM
Cant get Canopus advc110 working at all??? Martyk ADVC 10 06-21-2011 07:58 PM
Canopus DVX-E1 1394 port not working Hamed_a EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 03-07-2011 04:33 AM
Canopus videoout Plugin not working in Edius 5.5 john Editing with EDIUS 2 06-05-2010 02:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.