Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2019, 04:46 AM   #21
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MicK View Post
Stopped...The same. I see that the temperature when I export video to mp4 with native (Canopus) exporter is to high and computer is freeze. When export with TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC for EDIUS Pro 9,the temperature is also very high but no freezes or crashes - can finish to export.
Let me put on some thinking cap and see how I can diagnose this issue. It might be some compatibility issue for your CPU.

Anybody else here running EDIUS on his CPU (AMD) - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X?

Question - how hot does it gets when you are running EDIUS on that chip? The specs says 68 deg C - that's really hot !!!
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema

Last edited by tingsern; 06-03-2019 at 06:24 AM. Reason: Put in question for op
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 10:24 PM   #22
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

Noa has a very similar system I think but he hasn't posted for while. My system is similar but 12 core 1920 running stock. Not sure what cpu cooler is on this system but mine has a low cost air cooler that even at max rate keeps the cpu at or below 50.

In the last month I had all sorts of problems following a Windows update ( still 1809 ) including blue screens etc. Slow EDIUS performance but not Resolve. With the latest Windows update two days ago all performance has returned and no blue screens. I felt that Windows had messed with the drivers so reloaded from Gigabyte and also NVIDIA. However there was yet another Windows update two days ago that cleared the issue. It only seems to have effected EDIUS as Resolve performance did not change maybe because Resolve depends so much on the GPU so was not noticeable.

I would update Windows and then reload all drivers from the board manufacturer site ONLY. I reloaded ALL drivers from the Gigabyte site for my board.

EDIT: As a guide for EDIUS 8.53 my system runs at 100% until buffer is full on either a UHD project or a HD project ( I normally use my UHD GH5 files in a HD multicam project ) After buffer is full cpu is at 75 to 80% and 1080Ti at 42%. Much more than Resolve Studio 16 that for the same file plays instantly with cpu at 20% and 1080Ti at 37% for a UHD project and cpu 20% and 1080Ti 19% for a HD project. Those are big performance differences. For EDIUS I definitely think Intel cpu is the better choice. My second system that is a 4790K is almost as fast for EDIUS but is no go for Resolve. Have to make your choices based on what you want to do.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 06-03-2019 at 11:03 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 01:37 AM   #23
MicK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Noa has a very similar system I think but he hasn't posted for while. My system is similar but 12 core 1920 running stock. Not sure what cpu cooler is on this system but mine has a low cost air cooler that even at max rate keeps the cpu at or below 50.

In the last month I had all sorts of problems following a Windows update ( still 1809 ) including blue screens etc. Slow EDIUS performance but not Resolve. With the latest Windows update two days ago all performance has returned and no blue screens. I felt that Windows had messed with the drivers so reloaded from Gigabyte and also NVIDIA. However there was yet another Windows update two days ago that cleared the issue. It only seems to have effected EDIUS as Resolve performance did not change maybe because Resolve depends so much on the GPU so was not noticeable.

I would update Windows and then reload all drivers from the board manufacturer site ONLY. I reloaded ALL drivers from the Gigabyte site for my board.

EDIT: As a guide for EDIUS 8.53 my system runs at 100% until buffer is full on either a UHD project or a HD project ( I normally use my UHD GH5 files in a HD multicam project ) After buffer is full cpu is at 75 to 80% and 1080Ti at 42%. Much more than Resolve Studio 16 that for the same file plays instantly with cpu at 20% and 1080Ti at 37% for a UHD project and cpu 20% and 1080Ti 19% for a HD project. Those are big performance differences. For EDIUS I definitely think Intel cpu is the better choice. My second system that is a 4790K is almost as fast for EDIUS but is no go for Resolve. Have to make your choices based on what you want to do.
Exporting movie right now. Thank for God, there is no freezes or crashes till now. When editing -everything comes with small delay ( scrolling, time line zooming, effects changing e t c). All this staff makes me crazy.don't have those problems when work with any of Adobe software.
See the attached screen shots.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (247.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-2.jpg (156.0 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-3.jpg (426.1 KB, 7 views)
MicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 04:10 AM   #24
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

For comparison - on my EDIUS 9 - doing UHD projects (4K) reading files from Panasonic UX180 and Blackmagic Pocket Cinema 4K cameras - with no audio filters (I don't process audio on EDIUS) - and 2 or 3 video filters (Ignite and Grass Valley's own) - and once in a while - NEAT VIDEO filter too - my buffers on playback - don't drop below 90%. Ignite filters are configured to use the nVidia Quadro GPU while the rest of them are using Intel GPU.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 01:31 PM   #25
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

Is that SW measuring the cpu temp with or without the 27C offset. I would use the AMD software to get a true reading of cpu performance and temperatures. If that 78 is true I would get a new cpu cooler. This what I use on my 1920 https://www.arctic.ac/worldwide_en/freezer-33-tr.html. If you want something better https://noctua.at/en/products/cpu-co...h-u14s-tr4-sp3. I think these are better than all the water coolers other than Enermax. I use this to see what is going on NOT to overclock. https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/ryzen-master

EDIT: As an indication, exporting to a HQX file, two tracks of UHD 60P ( some cropping and panning etc ) and one of HD, XAVC-S, a 1920x1080 60P project my system will do this encode in about 1/2 realtime with CPU indicating 75 to 80%. The RyzenMaster software shows all 12 cores running at 3.7 and temperature between 44C and 45C
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 06-05-2019 at 03:51 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 04:51 PM   #26
MicK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Is that SW measuring the cpu temp with or without the 27C offset. I would use the AMD software to get a true reading of cpu performance and temperatures. If that 78 is true I would get a new cpu cooler. This what I use on my 1920 https://www.arctic.ac/worldwide_en/freezer-33-tr.html. If you want something better https://noctua.at/en/products/cpu-co...h-u14s-tr4-sp3. I think these are better than all the water coolers other than Enermax. I use this to see what is going on NOT to overclock. https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/ryzen-master

EDIT: As an indication, exporting to a HQX file, two tracks of UHD 60P ( some cropping and panning etc ) and one of HD, XAVC-S, a 1920x1080 60P project my system will do this encode in about 1/2 realtime with CPU indicating 75 to 80%. The RyzenMaster software shows all 12 cores running at 3.7 and temperature between 44C and 45C
This is my cpu cooler: https://www.newegg.com/p/13C-0005-00...9SIAADY63N0333
Should be good enough. May some Microsoft updates cause freezing problems?
MicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:34 PM   #27
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

Yes that cooler should work fine unless you overclock. Not sure if WIN update was an issue for you but it was for me for sure. That is why I went through the route of updating then re loading all the drivers from Gigabyte for my board and then it was the last update that solved the problem of blue screens etc. Been almost a week now with the computer running a lot of the time with no more blue screens and performance is not bad.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:35 PM   #28
MicK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Posts: 13
Default CPU temperature

Quote:
Originally Posted by MicK View Post
This is my cpu cooler: https://www.newegg.com/p/13C-0005-00...9SIAADY63N0333
Should be good enough. May some Microsoft updates cause freezing problems?
2 different software....Please see the attachment.Which one is right?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (247.9 KB, 13 views)
MicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:46 PM   #29
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

They are both saying the same thing but the one that is saying 77 is not taking account of the 27C offset in the Threadrippers. The both would then say 50C. I still think it better if you use the AMD Ryzen Master as that will be AMD telling you what it is rather than a third party company.

Idle on my 1920 sits at 33C according to the RyzenMaster software with that cheap cooler. I got the 1920 and that cheap cooler fully intending to upgrade both when the 7nm parts are available. Next year now I expect.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 07:13 PM   #30
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 370
Default

This sounds remarkably similar to the problems I've had since updating to 9.40- lockups and slow, sticky timeline behaviors.
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Sync not working on New i7 computer Thomas Eduis EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 6 12-31-2018 11:04 AM
Programs on your computer can not see Canopus codecs Russlav Editing with EDIUS 15 07-18-2016 04:46 AM
Cant get Canopus advc110 working at all??? Martyk ADVC 10 06-21-2011 07:58 PM
Canopus DVX-E1 1394 port not working Hamed_a EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 03-07-2011 04:33 AM
Canopus videoout Plugin not working in Edius 5.5 john Editing with EDIUS 2 06-05-2010 02:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.