Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2019, 09:39 PM   #1
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default Secondary Monitor Flashing on and off

All of a sudden, my secondary monitor (full preview) has been intermittently going on and off. When it does, the program seems to freeze for a second (for example, if I'm in the middle of adjusting a slider, the slider won't move).

I've updated my video card driver, checked all connections, and have latest version of Edius (using Workgroup).

Any ideas what might be happening?

Thanks.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 10:19 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skimmel View Post
All of a sudden, my secondary monitor (full preview) has been intermittently going on and off. When it does, the program seems to freeze for a second (for example, if I'm in the middle of adjusting a slider, the slider won't move).

I've updated my video card driver, checked all connections, and have latest version of Edius (using Workgroup).

Any ideas what might be happening?

Thanks.
You will have to do some part swapping to confirm, but it could be many things. .....Bad signal cable, bad monitor or monitor power supply, another piece of software or malware interfering with the driver, if you recently had a windows update, you may need to update your BIOS or GPU card firmware, or your GPU card may be failing or overheating. Likewise if the monitor is run from and Intel GPU, you could have an overheating CPU since the CPU and GPU are the same chip.

- Swapping the signal cable is easy enough.
- Checking for malware is relatively easy with malware bytes.
- Checking for other conflicts can be done by running in safe mode for a while
to see what happens (sometimes just booting into safe mode and then back
into normal mode can fix odd things).
- Checking for monitor or monitor power supply may or may not be easy. You
can physically swap primary for secondary if you have the right connections
and/or swap power supplies of your monitors have external power supplies.
- Overheating can often be fixed by blowing out the CPU and GPU fans with
compressed air, unless a fan is just old and not spinning at the correct speed
anymore, in which case a replacement is warranted. CPU-Z and GPU-Z can
read system temperatures to give you an indication of overheating.
- It could even be your computer power supply not being able to supply the GPU correctly.

It is difficult to say more without being able to lay my hands on the system and see what your specific hardware is and how it is all connected.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 01-21-2019 at 11:44 AM. Reason: fix typo
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 05:54 AM   #3
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
You will have to do some part swapping to confirm, but it could be many things. .....Bad signal cable, bad monitor or monitor power supply, another piece of software or malware interfering with the driver, if you recently has a windows update, you may need to update your BIOS or GPU card firmware, or your GPU card may be failing or overheating. Likewise if the monitor is run from and Intel GPU, you could have an overheating CPU since the CPU and GPU are the same chip.

- Swapping the signal cable is easy enough.
- Checking for malware is relatively easy with malware bytes.
- Checking for other conflicts can be done by running in safe mode for a while
to see what happens (sometimes just booting into safe mode and then back
into normal mode can fix odd things).
- Checking for monitor or monitor power supply may or may not be easy. You
can physically swap primary for secondary if you have the right connections
and/or swap power supplies of your monitors have external power supplies.
- Overheating can often be fixed by blowing out the CPU and GPU fans with
compressed air, unless a fan is just old and not spinning at the correct speed
anymore, in which case a replacement is warranted. CPU-Z and GPU-Z can
read system temperatures to give you an indication of overheating.
- It could even be your computer power supply not being able to supply the GPU correctly.

It is difficult to say more without being able to lay my hands on the system and see what your specific hardware is and how it is all connected.
Thank you very much, that was incredibly helpful! I figured out that it was, for some reason, a mapped network drive from a NAS. The mapped drive has nothing to do with Edius -- there were no files on the drive that Edius had to reference. Once I unmapped it, the problem went away. Unfortunately, now I can't map the network drive!

Has anyone seen this before with Edius? Any solutions? Thanks.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:25 AM   #4
dolby
Member
 
dolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 53
Default

I have the the same problem with flashing, turn on and off third monitor once bettween two and five minutes on my third preview FullHD monitor Eizo Foris connected with hdmi on my nvidia gt760 2gb. I have noticed problem from time when I add to my desk new 2560x1600 monitor. Now I have 3 monitor setup with 2560x1600, 1920x1200 and 1920x1080. Maybe this is lot for my graphic adapter. There is no problem with 2 monitor setup.

Maybe you have the problem only with small freezing and flashing a bit....this I have also in 4k timelines projects. The best way is to use hardware 4k preview card from Blackmagic or maybe buy a new more powerful PC hardware.
__________________
Miro Remo
www.miroremo.com

GIGABYTE x79 UD4, Intel Core i7 i3930k @4200 Mhz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 760, 14x internal HDD, HD SPARK, Sound Blaster Audigy, LG DVD-RW, WINDOWS 10 x64.
dolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 09:32 AM   #5
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,700
Default

Assuming you are using Windows 10 check what the scaling is for all 3 screens inside Windows. EDIUS does not like it if the scaling is different on the screens - especially if using full screen playback on one of them.

Right click on a blank space on the desktop and choose display settings.

Under scale and layout check the top box is the same % for all screens.

It may not be the problem but is easy to check as Windows has a habit of setting different scaling for screens of different resolutions automatically.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 11:51 AM   #6
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skimmel View Post
Thank you very much, that was incredibly helpful! I figured out that it was, for some reason, a mapped network drive from a NAS. The mapped drive has nothing to do with Edius -- there were no files on the drive that Edius had to reference. Once I unmapped it, the problem went away. Unfortunately, now I can't map the network drive!

Has anyone seen this before with Edius? Any solutions? Thanks.
I can't say I have ever seen a drive mapping cause a problem like that.

You say you can't map the drive. Can you browse it without it being mapped? If you type \\<NAS NAME> where the stuff after the \\ is replaced by the name of your NAS, you should see all shares that it is hosting and be able to browse them. You can also right click on them and select "map network drive" to create a mapping. If you can browse these shares, they should be ok. If you can't browse them, you may have an issue on your NAS.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 01-21-2019 at 08:40 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:42 PM   #7
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
I can't say I have ever seen a drive mapping cause a problem like that.

You say you can't map the drive. Can you browse it without it being mapped? If you type \\<NAS NAME> where the stuff after the \\ is replaced by the nae of your NAS, you should see all shares that it is hosting and be able to browse them. You can also right click on them and select "map network drive" to create a mapping. If you can browse these shares, they should be ok. If you can't browse them, you may have an issue on your NAS.
Thank you. I can actually map the drive. But, once I do that, I get the weird monitor behavior. If I unmap, then the problem goes away.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 08:44 PM   #8
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skimmel View Post
Thank you. I can actually map the drive. But, once I do that, I get the weird monitor behavior. If I unmap, then the problem goes away.
I have no answer. What version of Windows are you running. I am on Win7 and have several network drives mapped without a problem.

If you are on Win10, perhaps someone with more experience with Win10 can help more.

Once again though, if it is Win10 and this happened after a recent update, perhaps a firmware or bios update would help.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
secondary monitor in full screen - not smooth djozy Editing with EDIUS 1 11-20-2015 07:51 AM
Playback flashing/distorting on UI and Monitor. PaulWinterton Editing with EDIUS 20 08-22-2013 10:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.