Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 03:17 PM   #1
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default Edius 6: what differences between software mode and hardware mode?

Hi, I use AVCHD projets only and I have:
Edius 6 and Canopus NX PCI Express
i7 980X 3.33Ghz 12MB PROCESSOR
CORSAIR DDR3 1600 12GB 3 blocchi RAM
Zotac Geforce GTX 470 1280 MB VEDEOBOARD
ASUS SABERTOOTH X58 MOTHERBOARD

When I use Edius 6 I can get two options: "software mode" and "hardware mode". I'd like to know what differences there are between "software mode" and "hardware mode". Some friend of mine have told me if Edius works in "software mode" I will not get a disadvantage on power and speed. Is it true?
What are the disadvantages working in "software mode"?
Thanks
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:56 PM   #2
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,756
Default

If you are speaking about one of the hardware cards vs OHCI (software), the only real difference is that hardware give you external out. For normal editing, performance wise, they will be the same.
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 12:15 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,064
Default

when I edit in hardware mode with EDIUS SP, the cursor starts and stops as the spacebar is pressed

in software mode, there is a delay and when I press spacebar to stop, it does not stop as one would hope, the cursor jumps forward

so for me, I use hardware mode and I also get to see the real picture on the external 42" Plasma (in my opinion, Plasma looks better than LCD)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 6: The device does not support the current format. Activating the software mode Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 15 12-05-2011 03:31 PM
Switching to software mode? sebazvideo Editing with EDIUS 35 11-04-2011 10:20 AM
ADVC 300 unit mode or PC mode? sisuuk ADVC 7 05-02-2009 12:08 PM
Composite mode in Edius? Illiance Editing with EDIUS 3 11-14-2008 11:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.