Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2009, 05:40 PM   #1
Raja
Senior Member
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 624
Default MPEG cutter/joiner for Edius files??

Didn't know where to post this.
Can anyone recommend a good mpeg cutter/joiner application for Edius encoded mpeg files (without the need to re-encode)?
I've always used the Canopus MPEGcraft program but it doesn't support mpeg files with AC3 audio.

I've googled it but would like any recommendations from any users here.

Cheers
__________________
Raja Singh
Sadha Video
UK
1st:HDStorm+expansion bay,i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650,Lian Li PC-A7110B Tower Case,NEC 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
2nd:HDSpark, i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650, Lian-Li case, Asus 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
3rd:IntensityPro4K,i7 4790K,Asus Z97-K,16Gb Corsair RAM,Geforce GTX750Ti,Corsair case,Asus 24"Monitor, Win7 64bit,Vistitle2.6,Edius 8.2
Gigabit Ethernet
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:11 PM   #2
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

www.womble.com seems a popular one too
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:31 AM   #3
xtz_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 103
Default

Have you tryed Edius with segmentencode on export?
__________________
Gintaras
Edius 8.5/ 5.51, Panasonic hc-x1, Canon 5d3, Canon 550, JVC GZ-GX1 www.gintarasmockus.lt
i7 3770k, 8 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, Geforce GTX 650 2 GB, 120 GB SSD, 21 TB HDD, Win 7 HP 64
xtz_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:42 PM   #4
Raja
Senior Member
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtz_ View Post
Have you tryed Edius with segmentencode on export?
I think I tried it once and it took time. I will try it again.
__________________
Raja Singh
Sadha Video
UK
1st:HDStorm+expansion bay,i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650,Lian Li PC-A7110B Tower Case,NEC 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
2nd:HDSpark, i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650, Lian-Li case, Asus 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
3rd:IntensityPro4K,i7 4790K,Asus Z97-K,16Gb Corsair RAM,Geforce GTX750Ti,Corsair case,Asus 24"Monitor, Win7 64bit,Vistitle2.6,Edius 8.2
Gigabit Ethernet
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:59 PM   #5
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

for this to work - the frame size and bit rates must be the same as the original - if the bit rate is VBR then the upper rate is the one that needs to match the original clips
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 11:09 PM   #6
Raja
Senior Member
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 624
Default

Just tried it with Edius. Doesn't work. A 1hr 40min clip with another clip (same bitrate for clips and while export), was estimating 15mins. Would be around 3-4mins with an MPEG cutter program.
__________________
Raja Singh
Sadha Video
UK
1st:HDStorm+expansion bay,i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650,Lian Li PC-A7110B Tower Case,NEC 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
2nd:HDSpark, i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650, Lian-Li case, Asus 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
3rd:IntensityPro4K,i7 4790K,Asus Z97-K,16Gb Corsair RAM,Geforce GTX750Ti,Corsair case,Asus 24"Monitor, Win7 64bit,Vistitle2.6,Edius 8.2
Gigabit Ethernet
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 02:00 PM   #7
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,735
Default

Did you have the render codec for the timeline set to MPEG as well as choosing MPEG as the export format and ticking "segment encode". Last time I tried it I had to do that as well.
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 06:54 PM   #8
zb21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 24
Default VideoReDo

Try this:

http://www.videoredo.com/en/index.htm

It works for me, although it is not free,
ZB
__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme4, Intel 2600K Sandy Bridge CPU, ASUS EN9600GT silent video card (NVIDIA), 16GB DDR3-1600 RAM, Windows 7 64 bit, Edius 6.06, HDSPARK, 3xDELL S2408W monitors, 4TB RAID 5 (Highpoint RocketRAID 2640x4), 6TB RAID 0 (Intel on-board controller), dedicated OS drive
zb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 08:27 PM   #9
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,948
Default

Mpeg Cutter etc used to be in the start menu of my old machine
can someone remind me which Canopus Software they came from
I have Lets create DVD (when installed shows up as Mpegcraft2) butt specific parts dont show up as standalone
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:23 PM   #10
Raja
Senior Member
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
Did you have the render codec for the timeline set to MPEG as well as choosing MPEG as the export format and ticking "segment encode". Last time I tried it I had to do that as well.
Cheers Dave. Will ty that.

Saw you at IOV. You was very busy with a long line of people to speak to you, so I didn't really get a chance to say hello.
Good to see that you do push Edius at these shows as being a very good editing app.
__________________
Raja Singh
Sadha Video
UK
1st:HDStorm+expansion bay,i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650,Lian Li PC-A7110B Tower Case,NEC 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
2nd:HDSpark, i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650, Lian-Li case, Asus 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
3rd:IntensityPro4K,i7 4790K,Asus Z97-K,16Gb Corsair RAM,Geforce GTX750Ti,Corsair case,Asus 24"Monitor, Win7 64bit,Vistitle2.6,Edius 8.2
Gigabit Ethernet
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V 5.? - Improved handling of mpeg files? Philip Editing with EDIUS 14 06-30-2009 05:24 AM
Edius v5 Mpeg SD encoder quality Barry Wilkes Editing with EDIUS 3 06-05-2009 11:12 PM
Mpeg Capture in Edius 5? plasma_video Editing with EDIUS 14 02-21-2009 10:26 PM
M2p files to Mpeg 2 Richtiger Editing with EDIUS 4 12-16-2008 02:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.