Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2019, 12:43 PM   #1
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,186
Default Handbrake encoded file throws up Error 2041 on QT player

First off I'm suffering with Man Flu so need a lot of TLC and an intravenous Southern Comfort drip!!!

Last week I needed to do an update to a show promo I made in 2013. It was made on E4.6 and had captions made on TM as icg files. I could have converted these to tga and then reloaded on 8.5 but had another project on the main system and what needed to be done, could be done on 4.6.

To make the mp4 I made an HQ avi and used Handbrake to encode across the network on a Win7 PC with the latest version of Handbrake. Sent file to producer (a mac user)- signed off. Re-encoded to higher Data Rate - uploaded to Publicist who reported a QT 2014 error on her QT player and Mac.
Re encoded and found the same error on QT BUT the file played on WMP, VLC, Power DVD and Google and also uploaded without error to Vimeo.
I then took the HQ file to an E8.5 TL and encoded using Edius - this file played fine on QT Player. This proved that the intermediate HQ file was fine and more to the point, my immediate problem was sorted.

I then started investigating. Re-checking the HB set up, somehow in my preset was an extra mp3 stream. That overcame the 2041 error but the file still played badly on QT player but fine on everything else. On further investigation, all mp4s made on HB were playing badly on QT player - but fine on everything else.

Further investigation... QT player does NOT like files made on Handbrake that are tff=1, yet is happy with Upper field mp4 made on Edius 8.5.
Weird or what?
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 01:51 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,650
Default

can you try that with the Handbrake version I use 0.10.5.0 64bit

newer versions require lots of fine tuning to get the same result
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 04:01 PM   #3
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
can you try that with the Handbrake version I use 0.10.5.0 64bit

newer versions require lots of fine tuning to get the same result
I went to the archive but that appears to be a Mac version or non GUI. When unzipped there was no.exe. I did have an old vers 1.00 64 bit and installed that and QT player again does not like tff=1 and stutters very badly.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 12:03 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDave View Post
I went to the archive but that appears to be a Mac version or non GUI. When unzipped there was no.exe. I did have an old vers 1.00 64 bit and installed that and QT player again does not like tff=1 and stutters very badly.
are you able to test in QT player of a MAC? I think the Win QT player is rubbish

also, test QT player in Win by selecting Safe mode (GDI only)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:05 AM   #5
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
are you able to test in QT player of a MAC? I think the Win QT player is rubbish

also, test QT player in Win by selecting Safe mode (GDI only)
As far as testing is concerned, no as I have no access to a Mac that I could sit and "play" on.
I certainly dont test any file using QT player for the very reason you posted- it's rubbish. The irony is that the producer who signed off on the original is Mac/Macbook. I have learnt that some Ipads do not like interlaced from anything but that is a seperate issue which I believe is fixed using VLC.

The crux of it is that a HB tff=1 encode wont play on a QT player but does on everything else yet an interlaced mp4 out of Edius will. I'm not sure what value testing in Safe Mode brings. If and when time permits, I can try some set up tweaks, feeding uncompressed etc and maybe posing on the HB forum that I have just discovered..

The promo was interlaced and as such kept interlaced as it maybe shown on TV screens at promo spots.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 11:29 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDave View Post
As far as testing is concerned, no as I have no access to a Mac that I could sit and "play" on.
I certainly dont test any file using QT player for the very reason you posted- it's rubbish. The irony is that the producer who signed off on the original is Mac/Macbook. I have learnt that some Ipads do not like interlaced from anything but that is a seperate issue which I believe is fixed using VLC.

The crux of it is that a HB tff=1 encode wont play on a QT player but does on everything else yet an interlaced mp4 out of Edius will. I'm not sure what value testing in Safe Mode brings. If and when time permits, I can try some set up tweaks, feeding uncompressed etc and maybe posing on the HB forum that I have just discovered..

The promo was interlaced and as such kept interlaced as it maybe shown on TV screens at promo spots.
ahahhh, now I understand

you don't have EDIUS9

EDIUS8 exports 50i as 50p as seen in mediainfo

EDIUS9 exports 50i as 50i and may cause the same issue in Win QT player as Handbrake

I assure you that any mp4 I give to Mac users from Handbrake plays perfect in their Mac QT players

also, EDIUS 9.4 now lets you export mp4 in mov container as well as all flavours of Prores
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 04:55 PM   #7
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,186
Default

Well I have sent mac users files from Handbrake for many moons without an issue, including ironically the shows producer but no idea what players they use.

As for Mediainfo, I discovered that last year.
https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ad.php?t=41639
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.