Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2007, 07:24 PM   #1
Gregster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to get my DVCPRO HD footage to render out 16:9

Actually I have more than one issue.

First, in the project settings, what is the difference between DVCPRO HD 720/29.97p over 59.94p and DVCPRO HD 720 59.94p ?

The 1080 options are DVCPRO HD 1080/59.94i and DVCPRO HD 1080/29.97p over 59.94i. I have been assuming that the first 1080 option is for stricking interlaced shot footage and the later is for progressive. But the 720 options both have a "p" at the end so this is why I am confused. I have searched all over the place and cannot find the answer.

Also, all of my DVCPRO HD footage renders out 4:3 aspect ratio. My HDV footage renders out widescreen. How do I get my DVCPRO HD footage to do the same?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 07:38 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregster View Post
First, in the project settings, what is the difference between DVCPRO HD 720/29.97p over 59.94p and DVCPRO HD 720 59.94p ?
DVCPRO HD 720/29.97p over 59.94p is for 720P/30P, DVCPRO HD 720 59.94p is for 720P/60P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregster View Post
The 1080 options are DVCPRO HD 1080/59.94i and DVCPRO HD 1080/29.97p over 59.94i.
DVCPRO HD 1080/59.94i is for 1080i/60i and DVCPRO HD 1080/29.97p over 59.94i is for 1080i/30P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregster View Post
Also, all of my DVCPRO HD footage renders out 4:3 aspect ratio. My HDV footage renders out widescreen. How do I get my DVCPRO HD footage to do the same?
What are you rendering to? What format, what codec (if applicable)? Does whatever you open the file with support anamorphic (non-square) pixels?
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:58 PM   #3
Gregster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
What are you rendering to? What format, what codec (if applicable)? Does whatever you open the file with support anamorphic (non-square) pixels?

My project settins are DVCRP HD 1080/29.97p over 59.94i

Rendering format DVCPRO HD AVI

This is coppied from my project settings box (shouldnt I be able to change these? Does not seem to be an option.

Video
Frame size : 1280 x 1080
Frame rate : 29.97( 30000/1001 )
Pixel aspect : 1.5000
Field order : Progressive

Audio
Rate : 48000Hz
Sample size : 16 Bit
Channel : 8


I have a short clip on my timeline and I select "export to file". I select DVCPRO HD AVI and lick "OK". My footage exports as a 4:3 aspect ratio. Again, this does not happen if I export HDV.

This is also the same if I export a still image.

I am playing in Windows media player. What player do you suggest?

Also, the video and audio are not linked. You know how the footage looks like it is in slow motion when you view cineform avi? This is how it looks when I export a DVCPRO HD AVI.

What could be the problem?

This is all so annoying. What format do I render out to in oder to have the footage play normally, like when you render out a DV avi it plays normally (unlike a cineform avi).

With DV it is so simple, just render out an avi and then load that into Windows media encoder and you have your web ready media.

In what format should I output the DVCPRO HD footage in order to load it into my Procoder or Windows Encoder?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 09:16 PM   #4
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,581
Default

If your ultimate target is WMV, then I would use Procoder or Procoder Express for Edius (depending on what's on your system) and set up an appropriate output target there. I do this all the time.

If you want to go to a DVCProHD AVI, I would still use PC or PCE, set the target type to AVI, specify the DVCProHD codec, and then set the aspect ratio. I suspect this last step doesn't get done when you export directly using the DVCProHD AVI Exporter.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 01:54 PM   #5
jjbvideo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 59
Default

Months ago I had similar problems with DVCPro HD 720p. I used the Select Exporter Plug-In to create a Canopus HQ AVI but there was no way to view this file using e.g. the Media Player. 720p uses a luma grid of 960 x 720 which will be expanded to the square-pixel HD standard of 1280 x 720 on playback. As you cannot change the frame size using the Select Exporter the file was created with 960 x 720 and this is wrong. So I had to use the Canopus ProCoder Express Wizard to do the job. There I could change the frame setting to 1280 x 720.
I assume that you have a similar problem. 1080i/p uses a luma grid of 1280 x 1080 pixels which is expanded to 1920 x 1080 on playback.
So try to use the Wizard and change the settings accordingly.
jjbvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 03:33 PM   #6
Gregster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbvideo View Post
Months ago I had similar problems with DVCPro HD 720p. I used the Select Exporter Plug-In to create a Canopus HQ AVI but there was no way to view this file using e.g. the Media Player. 720p uses a luma grid of 960 x 720 which will be expanded to the square-pixel HD standard of 1280 x 720 on playback. As you cannot change the frame size using the Select Exporter the file was created with 960 x 720 and this is wrong. So I had to use the Canopus ProCoder Express Wizard to do the job. There I could change the frame setting to 1280 x 720.
I assume that you have a similar problem. 1080i/p uses a luma grid of 1280 x 1080 pixels which is expanded to 1920 x 1080 on playback.
So try to use the Wizard and change the settings accordingly.

Ok I wil try that but why does everythong look like it is in slow motion? This is just like a cineform avi. You can watch it but the motion is slow and the audio is not in sync.

What format do you guys render out to have a final product to give to the client or to load into your coding software? Do you render out to Canopus AVI, DVCPRO HD avi or what?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Mixing DVCPro HD & AVCHD Footage Bassman Editing with EDIUS 3 01-30-2009 04:00 PM
4:3 Picture if I capture 16:9 footage via HDMI istvan FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 0 07-01-2008 12:44 AM
720P HDV HQ footage on 720P DVCPRO HD timeline Jonathan Porter Editing with EDIUS 4 11-30-2007 04:26 AM
HD 16:9 preview via Nx S-VHS Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 8 08-16-2007 07:21 PM
What is the best way or settings to get DVCPRO HD 720p P2 Footage to SD? tarkken Editing with EDIUS 1 05-19-2007 02:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.