Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 03:27 AM   #1
levidavid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: ישראל
Posts: 1
Default Install new windows

I want to format the computer, and install new windows. What should I do? I should not have problems afterwards with the license, because I heard from a friend that formatting was not a problem
levidavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 05:49 PM   #2
Geoff_C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warwick UK
Posts: 460
Default

Sign in and read the first thread in the Lounge.

https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...splay.php?f=48

All is explained.
__________________
Sys1: Gigabyte Z370 HD3 i7 8086K(4.3Ghz), 16Gb ram, 256Gb SSD system + 2x2Tb video drives, Graphics: nVidia 1060 (W10 Pro) E8v3
Sys2 :Clevo i7 6700HQ 3.5Ghz,16Gb ram 2565Gb SSD + 1Tb (W10 Pro)
Software: E8v3 WG; Sony Vegas Pro13; DVD Architect 5.2
Geoff_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 10:38 AM   #3
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff_C View Post
Sign in and read the first thread in the Lounge.

https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...splay.php?f=48

All is explained.
This thread was originally here in the editors section until it was for some reason moved to the lounge where it is not seen without logging in. I would have thought it should have been left in the Editors section were everyone could have easy access, or do GV not want people to be aware of the activation requirements and possible issues they may encounter?
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 11:09 AM   #4
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
This thread was originally here in the editors section until it was for some reason moved to the lounge where it is not seen without logging in.
I still find the activation process unclear depending on just using a image to re-install, clone a disc to a new one, re-install from scratch on a existing pc or install on a new pc, the lounge is "a place for topics that are more personal in nature" so I have no idea how this so often asked question that can lead to a non starting NLE if done wrong too many times end up in that section. Maybe I missed it but there should be a sticky post that is closed for comments explaining all the activation deviations in detail so that I don't have to wade through pages and pages to find what I am looking for.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 12:28 PM   #5
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Fully agree with you Noa.

It would be helpful if GV officially stated what the activation requirements are with reference to using backup images/clones and how it works in connection with reinstalls back on to the original (or replacement) OS drives. It is all very well saying contact your dealer or GV support this may work at the present time but what will happen in a few years time if your dealer is not available and GV support tells you your product is no longer supported?

The Windows OS activation seems more straightforward and forgiving provided you do not change too many hardware components on your PC. Peter
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 02:56 PM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,785
Default

Please stay on topic.
Contacting your re-seller or GV tech support is the current way for any activation issues.
There is also information on license issues in the manual and here : https://www.ediusworld.com/en/suppor.../cat1_709.html

So to remind everyone the forum unfortnately is not the place of contact for any activation issues.

This will remain so until we are instructed otherwise by management.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 11-10-2018 at 04:02 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 04:53 PM   #7
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Didn't realise we where going off topic, the link you provided doens't answer the first posters question, it only addresses errorcodes.
If I understand it right, we are not allowed to ask questions here to prevent we might run into a licensing issue during a re-install?
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 04:57 PM   #8
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,785
Default

We have explained many times to return the license to server before any reinstall. If you follow this there is no need to worry about anything.

Returning the license is the correct way to do this.

If you don't want to follow this please Contact GV tech support.

The question of the OP was not off topic.
Here you sticky with the information on EDIUS license /activation if you want to do a clean windows install.
https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...943#post315943
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 11-10-2018 at 05:03 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 05:28 PM   #9
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Thks, and what if you are reinstalling using a previously made image which contains the OS and Edius?
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 05:31 PM   #10
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,785
Default

You should return the license to the server of the installation you are replacing. This will give you the opportunity to reactivate on your new installation.

As the sticky says if this is because of a disk failure you will need to contact tech support or your re-seller.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 11-11-2018 at 12:41 AM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install Edius 8 because Windows 7 won't update on fresh install baddgsx Editing with EDIUS 10 03-12-2016 12:34 AM
Install New HD and clean install windows pa3bwd Editing with EDIUS 2 04-13-2015 05:06 PM
new install on Windows 8.1 with 6.5 ivybec Editing with EDIUS 25 10-30-2014 02:34 PM
New Install on windows 7 reelmoments Editing with EDIUS 6 08-14-2010 02:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.