Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2011, 11:12 AM   #1
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default Spurs Engine TVMW5 Encore Presets (level 4.1)

I have some presets on Level 4.1 H.264 that I have made with success. (L 4.1 means higher bitrate than previous maximum of 24Mbs)

I have only tested the 50i and the 23.976P presets with a run time of half hour. All work in Adobe Encore CS5 without re-encoding and built to image. The 60i ones shouls also work, let us know if not. Haven't done 720P yet.
Also tested with DVD architect 5.02 (fine)

Note: Not tested in any other version of Encore than CS5. It also takes some time to import (like normal). Not tested with TMP 4 xpress, this is version 5 presets.
Note: May not 100% fully BD compliant because does not work in DVDit PRO HD.
Note: These are all CBR - You may change to VBR, just make the maximum bitrate within 1.5x of the average bitrate.

Let me know how you go.

Footnote: I was told by Grass Valley (some time ago) that the FireCoder Blu was not even capable of doing Level 4.1 H.264 because of Toshiba's implementation. I guess that was smoke and mirrors to get me of their back!! When will Grass Valley take responsibility for this product and give us some proper software integration.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SpursEngine TVMW5 H264 BD.zip (42.3 KB, 148 views)
File Type: zip SpursEngine TVMW5 H264 Standard Def BD.zip (19.0 KB, 65 views)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au

Last edited by shueardm; 03-01-2011 at 01:07 PM.
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:34 AM   #2
tony
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1,578
Default

Mark, these are faster presets compared to the other ones you posted. a lot faster.
__________________
Tony


Asrock Z68 Extreme7 --i7-2700K --EDIUS 8.5WG--HDStorm+ --16GB Kingston HyperX--GTX 560Ti--AX850 PSU--MxM PCI-e Reader--Win 10 Pro 64bit
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:37 AM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony View Post
Mark, these are faster presets compared to the other ones you posted. a lot faster.
Yes, the x264wil be a lot better though.
The Spurs Engine shouldn't be used for mastering important jobs, just private or small paid local jobs.

Speed wise, it's half of realtime compared to overnight job
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:40 AM   #4
tony
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1,578
Default

Its telling me 7hrs to encode 2hrs 25mins, thats a lot faster compared to 21hrs +

Thanks.

UPDATE: now saying 8hrs +
__________________
Tony


Asrock Z68 Extreme7 --i7-2700K --EDIUS 8.5WG--HDStorm+ --16GB Kingston HyperX--GTX 560Ti--AX850 PSU--MxM PCI-e Reader--Win 10 Pro 64bit

Last edited by tony; 02-07-2011 at 12:03 PM.
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:47 AM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

It comes down if you wait a bit, it should take around 1.5 hours to complete.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:49 AM   #6
tony
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1,578
Default

OK Mark, I'll let it work away.
__________________
Tony


Asrock Z68 Extreme7 --i7-2700K --EDIUS 8.5WG--HDStorm+ --16GB Kingston HyperX--GTX 560Ti--AX850 PSU--MxM PCI-e Reader--Win 10 Pro 64bit
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:44 AM   #7
africanmarty
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 58
Default

hi shueardm thanks for the SD BD profiles. i have HD ones that work great for BD but i could not get SD BD to work but yours work fine, thanks again. Just some points i have found that your bit-rates are very high, granted yes you will need higher bit-rates when encoding with spurs engine but i have found the following bit-rates work very well and going higher will not give a better picture :

The video bit-rates i use are (using spurs engine to encode):
  • SD - 480/576i - h.264 CBR - 4000 kb/s
  • HD - 720p - h.264 CBR - 11000 kb/s
  • HD - 1080i/p - h.264 CBR - 25000 KB/s

Now the only problem left for me is that there is no option (even with mpeg 2 ) when using spurs that i can see that will take SD 23.976p/24p and do a 3:2 pull-down to make it 29.97i BD compliant (i don't want to have to upscale to HD).

Any workarounds for this ??

Also just to confirm when i use your setting i get the following from encore CS4 (see picture)

The 'dvd transoce staus' sais "untranscoded" - is this only for BD and i can exuse it as i am making a BD disk ??

but when i right click on the .264 movie file the 'transcode now' option is greyed out telling me that this file is "BD compliant"

So i'm confused and not sure what to think now.... awaiting your wisdom.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CS4 encode.JPG (50.6 KB, 45 views)
__________________
System :AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.8Ghz, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte MA770-UD3, Firecoder Blu, Nvidia 9600GT, 22" 1080p Monitor, Win XP SP3, Adobe Premier CS3, Tmpgenc 4 w/ Spurs engine plug-in.

Last edited by africanmarty; 05-14-2011 at 07:00 AM. Reason: added picture
africanmarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 11:20 AM   #8
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Untranscoded is only for DVD as they only support DVD compliant mpeg2 streams.... you can safely ignore.

Best
Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:39 AM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

I just got Encore CS6 and these presets now produce video that show untranscoded. Can anyone confirm?
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:31 AM   #10
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,687
Default

If you demux do they become transcoded?

Mark, have you tried the matrox compress Max
card?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spurs Engine with FCB John Lewis FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 16 02-04-2011 08:39 AM
Will Leadtek Spurs card work with Neo? Larry FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 9 06-17-2010 07:38 PM
PC3 Bluray presets DON'T work with Encore mattmatt ProCoder 9 06-24-2008 09:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.