Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2020, 12:02 PM   #1
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default Strange performance issues with Edius

I use Edius 8.5 workgroup. Recently Edius seems to really lag doing mundane tasks. Hardware has not changed and doing extensive hardware tests and checkups and not produced and leads as to the slow down.

For instance when I want to use the J,K,L keyboard commands. Previously Edius responded instantly and now there is considerable lag. Even in hitting the K key palyback doesn't start immediagely. Using the J key causes the buffer empty and not fill causing stutter on reverse playback. This is with one track of 720p with nothing done. I just load it onto the timeline and try to go through with ruff edits. No transitions.

When I start Edius I now get a dialog box asking if I want to make a system report to be used by Grass Valley for troubleshooting.

Does anyone have an idea where I might look for the problem?
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 12:09 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

you could attach such a system report here and I will look
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 01:48 PM   #3
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Ok I will try to attach it here.
Attached Files
File Type: zip EdiusSystemReport-20200216-115900.zip (2.09 MB, 3 views)
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 03:13 PM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
This is with one track of 720p with nothing done.
720p using what codec? That can make a huge difference.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 03:58 PM   #5
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
720p using what codec? That can make a huge difference.
MP4 50p Files identical to this file have played back perfectly in the past.
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 04:09 PM   #6
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
MP4 50p Files identical to this file have played back perfectly in the past.
That is not the codec info.

avi, mov, mp4, etc, are containers. I am referring to the encoding is used in that container. Is it H264, H265, etc.? H265 in particular is very difficult for edius to decode for editing efficiently.

On the outside the files may appear the same in terms of 720p, mp4, 50p, but the codec can be different.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 04:42 PM   #7
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
That is not the codec info.

avi, mov, mp4, etc, are containers. I am referring to the encoding is used in that container. Is it H264, H265, etc.? H265 in particular is very difficult for edius to decode for editing efficiently.

On the outside the files may appear the same in terms of 720p, mp4, 50p, but the codec can be different.
Yes your are correct. h.264
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 04:53 PM   #8
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
Yes your are correct. h.264
ok, your system should be able to handle 720p H264.

Are you using H264 Quicksync decode? Do you have Quicktime 7 installed and enabled in Edius? Perhaps a reinstall of Quicktime may help?
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 10:44 PM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
Ok I will try to attach it here.
I can see CCleaner installed and running, registry cleaners often break things, I don't use them at all

You have a Grass Valley item disabled in the startup tab, enable it

be sure you have not set optical flow as default, that would break realtime performance

can I see a screenshot of your project settings and a screenshot of clip properties from mediainfo in tree view https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 11:22 AM   #10
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

The video that didn't work was a video I downloaded from YouTube. I was sending a portion of the video to support at my CAD software company to ask if my software could do what was in the video. The downloaded files was 1920x1080 30fps progressive. It didn't play nice in either a 1920x1080 or 1280x720 50p project. After outputting it to 720 50p and using that file everything worked as expected as in fine.
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange issues in Edius 8 WG GMOS Editing with EDIUS 4 08-04-2018 02:23 AM
Tiemline Issues - VisTitle Not Available - Audio Level Adjustment Issues Cam2919 Editing with EDIUS 7 04-01-2013 03:33 AM
Performance issues - Stuttering with clips on Timeline bluprojekt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-08-2010 11:27 PM
Realtime Performance Issues/Questions Jason Ramsey Editing with EDIUS 38 08-19-2007 06:24 AM
Laptop performance issues... brashquido Editing with EDIUS 11 08-18-2007 10:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.