Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 10:34 PM   #1
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 734
Default Edius 9.10 and 7.5

Can I have both 9.10 and 7.5 on the same computer. I know other versions would work together, but not sure of this combo.

tia
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:36 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

you can but why would you want to? also you should use 9.51 and not 9.1

if you must have 7, I will provide some steps you need to do in system32
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 04:00 AM   #3
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
you can but why would you want to? also you should use 9.51 and not 9.1

if you must have 7, I will provide some steps you need to do in system32
You're right, I meant to say 9.51. I want to use my Matrox box without taking time to change between 9 versions. Go to 7.5 to capture and right to 9.51 to edit.
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 04:16 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyD View Post
You're right, I meant to say 9.51. I want to use my Matrox box without taking time to change between 9 versions. Go to 7.5 to capture and right to 9.51 to edit.
that won't work, because as soon as any version later than 9.30 is installed, capture is blocked

for best results, uninstall 9.51 and Mync and choose not to deactivate, takes 30 sec to do both

install 9.30 and start capturing (takes 30 sec to install)

when capture is done, install 9.51 (takes 30 sec, no need to uninstall 9.30)

I wish GV would reveal the reason why capture was blocked in all versions after 9.30, it makes no sense to me because Matrox captures the cleanest analog of all cards available on the market

maybe there is a feud between Matrox and GV
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 06:20 PM   #5
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,428
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I wish GV would reveal the reason why capture was blocked in all versions after 9.30, it makes no sense to me because Matrox captures the cleanest analog of all cards available on the market
Yes, it is especially strange since they only have their own very high end hardware so there is nothing to protect in the middle and lower segment.

It might have been accidental and just couldn't bother to rectify it...
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 06:27 PM   #6
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I wish GV would reveal the reason why capture was blocked in all versions after 9.30, it makes no sense to me because Matrox captures the cleanest analog of all cards available on the market

maybe there is a feud between Matrox and GV
The Matrox box is the best, no doubt. I'm setting up a large job of 100 tapes from Beta, DigiBeta, U-matic for restoration. I think I'll just slide in my C drive with 7.5 and be done with it. I really don't need 9.51 for this job.

Would be nice if they could get the drivers working again in Eduis for guy's like me. Restoration is a big business.
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 06:31 PM   #7
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,428
Talking

I have dual boot now with Edius 9.30 on an old SSD to capture and on my fast boot M2 SSD Edius 9.51 to edit.
It's a clumsy (unprofessional) solution to reboot with client watching, also because of dual booting I can't get my fingerprint scanning to work as both windows 10 wipes it out after reboot.

Oh, Life could be so simple, but where would the fun be in that...
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 8 and Win 10: after Win 10 update I got a worry with NX PCI Express card Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 8 09-26-2018 05:05 AM
edius 9.10 Pete Editing with EDIUS 3 02-06-2018 02:37 AM
ADVC 100 with OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 moostmartijn ADVC 1 10-08-2015 11:31 AM
Edius 8 wiin 10 adorage 10 rando EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 5 08-01-2015 02:14 AM
Edius 5.0 to 5.10 sv1991 Editing with EDIUS 11 07-27-2010 12:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.