Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2007, 10:54 PM   #1
jb3710
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default thin blurry line at bottom of converted vhs tapes

I recently purchased a Canopus ADVC-300 to convert vhs tapes. I have tried a number of different vhs tapes (some old, some new) and wires (s-video and rca), and VCRs - and I always seem to get a thin blurry line at the very bottom of the video when it is showing and/or recording onto the computer. I have tried capturing in both iMovie and Final Cut Pro with the same results.

I tried capturing a DVD using the same method and there was no thin blurry line.

It doesn't show on a television since it's at the very bottom, but it will for digital videos.

Does anyone know what this is?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 11:21 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

This is normal for analog recordings. There's often a lot of garbage around the edges of the frame. You don't see it on a normal TV because it's in the overscan area, but on a computer, it shows the entire video frame, including the overscan area, so you see it.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 01:23 AM   #3
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

This always happens for me too. If you want to get rid of it because you will be showing the video on a computer, you will need to crop the fuzzy bit out during editing. Alternatively apply a slight zoom so it disappears off the bottom. Either way it will probably increase rendering time and may reduce quality a little.

Ken.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:07 AM   #4
jb3710
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks guys, I will try cropping or zooming to fix it...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:34 AM   #5
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,581
Default

I have "Analog Crop" presets that I use in both Procoder and Edius to get rid of all the fuzzy stuff that you might pick up during a capture from an analog source.

My preference is to trim about 4 lines top and bottom, and about 8 pixels left and right. I fill the area with black rather than scaling up the resulting image because I don't want to compromise it by scaling it up by a tiny fraction only to lose the borders to the overscan area again, and the black looks fine on both an underscaning display and a computer.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D PIP is keyframeable - here's how GrassValley_BH Editing with EDIUS 11 06-24-2011 09:15 PM
freeze first frame as a still picture? Alter Ego Editing with EDIUS 13 07-17-2008 06:59 PM
Transferring Disney VHS Tapes with a ADVC 110 G1AKN ADVC 2 06-07-2008 10:35 PM
Will the ADVC 300 help me preserve my old memories on PAL VHS Tapes? wasserkool ADVC 11 05-28-2008 01:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.