Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2018, 12:37 PM   #31
serfon
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Default

I have a project with the same files
if it works well maybe it depends on the processor?

i have i7 4770k
serfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 12:49 PM   #32
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,642
Default

I just tried your file on a 4790k and it works just fine in downscale to SD. I did it in h.264 and mpeg 2. Both translate fine using an interlace project and Lanczos 2 for the downres.
Under View>Pause field when working in interlace did you change the setting to interlace? You may have to also change the Update Frequency to field. This is found under User Settings>Preview>Overlay.
That might improve the way it looks on your machine.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 08-06-2018 at 12:56 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 01:13 PM   #33
serfon
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Default

I also tried lanczos2 but continue the problem
the only solution I found is to set the project to SD then the exported file has no problems
serfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 01:41 PM   #34
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serfon View Post
the only solution I found is to set the project to SD then the exported file has no problems
but that is the correct way to do it

why do you want to do it the wrong way???

Lanczos downscaling is dead as a doornail when exporting from HD to SD

it only works when switching to SD first
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 01:57 PM   #35
serfon
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Default

I solved that way but I think it's not the right way to always repeat with Edius 7 any setting I gave the project the result was always perfect with Edius 9 something has changed Edius 8 I have not tried
I prefer to set up the project in HD for several reasons
first: I have an Intensity pro and if I set the project in SD the output of the preview is at 4: 3
second: if I need the final file in HD and in SD I would just export it in the way I need it without touching anything
instead if I work with the project in SD if I need the file in HD I have to change the settings of the titles losing more time
then as I said any other amateur program works well to climb Edius 9 no
serfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:03 PM   #36
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

you don't need to edit in SD, I never do

edit in HD and export what you need in HD, and then when you are ready for SD export, simply switch to a premade SD 16:9 preset with Lancos 3 HQ enabled, then export and then switch right back to HD, takes 2 seconds to switch

this method will give you the best result

if you use the EDIUS7 way to export direct from HD timeline to SD, the result will be worse quality

the titles do not change in size when switching from HD to SD providing they are on a V track (recommended)

delete the T tracks and never use them if you need to switch resolution
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:11 PM   #37
serfon
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Default

ok I'll try it so thanks
serfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 04:34 PM   #38
AndyW69
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 53
Default

I have the same problem exporting to dvd or mpeg on a newer laptop - fine on my older laptop, I wonder if its an issue with the hardware encoding within the intel chips? I have updated all of my drivers etc its no better, I am having to export to dvd from my old laptop.

The new laptop is a dell xps 15 with i77700hq nvidia gtx1050 intel 630

my older pc has a gen 4 i7 with nvidia 960 and whatever the intel gfx was at then

exporting to mp4 using the hardware encoder is perfect and very fast

Andy

just tried setting project to sd and it is better, seems an issue with some hardware and edius 9
AndyW69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 02:02 AM   #39
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyW69 View Post
I have the same problem exporting to dvd or mpeg on a newer laptop - fine on my older laptop, I wonder if its an issue with the hardware encoding within the intel chips? I have updated all of my drivers etc its no better, I am having to export to dvd from my old laptop.

The new laptop is a dell xps 15 with i77700hq nvidia gtx1050 intel 630

my older pc has a gen 4 i7 with nvidia 960 and whatever the intel gfx was at then

exporting to mp4 using the hardware encoder is perfect and very fast

Andy

just tried setting project to sd and it is better, seems an issue with some hardware and edius 9
the mpeg encoder does not use the intel chips, instead all CPU cores will be used 100%

the key is to switch project to SD preset with Lanczos3 HQ enabled prior to DVD or SD Mpeg export, then when done, switch back to HD

the switch only takes a second, especially if you make a keyboard shortcut to project settings, watch attached
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 AVP-0073.mp4 (1.40 MB, 17 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 08-21-2018 at 09:51 AM.
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 01:27 PM   #40
serfon
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Default

it seems that the problem was solved with the 9.21 update
serfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 5.12 MPEG Generic Export Problem pradipdabhi Editing with EDIUS 5 06-27-2010 08:04 AM
DVD export shows bad quality video kruzer Editing with EDIUS 4 05-16-2010 06:11 PM
Export MPEG Marc44 Editing with EDIUS 6 05-16-2010 11:41 AM
Bad MPEG encoding johnsirb Editing with EDIUS 8 08-24-2009 12:58 AM
MPG Export bad aspect ratio ernie225 Editing with EDIUS 7 04-19-2008 04:41 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.