Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2016, 02:53 PM   #91
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,483
Default

We have talked to Blackmagic about it and they said it was better but not perfect and would look into it again.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 10:10 PM   #92
video178
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: AU
Posts: 223
Default

where to plug this card to get good capture in small PCI express slot or big PCI express slot? Thanks
video178 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 12:44 PM   #93
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by video178 View Post
where to plug this card to get good capture in small PCI express slot or big PCI express slot? Thanks
The card needs a 4x slot.

You need to look at the specifications of your motherboard to determine which slot is capable of 4x, preferably without causing another card to drop to a slower speed. If you have no available PCIe lanes for this card, the motherboard will usually reduce your GPU to 8x, and use 4 of the 8 freed up lanes for the 4x card. That said, since Edius is very CPU intensive and doesn't rely much on GPU, reducing your GPU from 16x to 8x will probably not be noticeable in Edius, but could cause performance issues with any programs you have that require heavy GPU usage.

The physical size of the slot will only dictate that the slot is physically capable of a certain maximum speed, but does not dictate if it is implemented at that speed with the electronics. For example, the long 16x slots can be hooked up electronically by the board manufacturer to work at 16x, 8x, 4x, 2x, or 1x, but since it is physically a 16x slot, just looking at the size of the slot doesn't tell you.
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 06:02 AM   #94
video178
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: AU
Posts: 223
Default

I have asrock z97 etreme6, which PCIe lanes i need to plug this card in? Thanks
video178 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 09:27 PM   #95
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by video178 View Post
I have asrock z97 etreme6, which PCIe lanes i need to plug this card in? Thanks
I am not at a computer to look right now, doing this from my phone, so you might want to confirm yourself, but if you look at the manual, the board layout and expansion slot specs, should tell you which is a 4x slot. Based on what I am looking at, you only have one choice, slot 4, (the one in the middle of the board), which is an 8x slot. It will make the upper 16x slot 2 work at 8x. All other slots are either 2x or 1x.
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 10:12 PM   #96
video178
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: AU
Posts: 223
Default

BernH, But the size of the card smaller than lane Pcie4, is it still ok?
video178 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 05:32 AM   #97
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by video178 View Post
BernH, But the size of the card smaller than lane Pcie4, is it still ok?
The size of the slot is not the relevant thing, unless it is too small for the card, in which case it will not work. As I said above, the physical size only dictates what speed the slot could possibly be configured for, not what it is configured for. What is relevant is the speed that the slot operates at.

The card needs an x4 capable slot. The only slots that are listed as operating at x4 or higher speeds are slots 2 and 4 which share 16 (x16) PCIe lanes. Assuming you have a graphics card in slot 2 the only option left is slot 4. With nothing in slot 4, slot 2 runs at x16, but when something is in slot 4, they both run at x8, unless, as noted below, you have an M2 drive, in which case they operate at x8 and x4 speeds, dedicating 4 lanes (x4) to the M2 drive. All the other slots are either physically too small, which means they run at x1 or x2, or are physically an X16 slot but running at x2 like slot 5.

This is from the specifications on the asrock wesite. :
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 Slots (PCIE2/PCIE4: single at x16 (PCIE2); dual at x8 (PCIE2) / x8 (PCIE4))
- 1 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot (PCIE5: x2 mode)
- 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x1 Slots
- 1 x mini-PCI Express Slot

*If M2_1 slot is occupied, PCIE2 slot will run at x8 mode, and PCIE4 slot will run at x4 mode.

**mini-PCI Express slot is shared with PCIE3 slot.


You will see in my forum signature that I am using an an Intensity Pro 4K and an MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard which is very similar to yours in terms if the slot configuration. Trust me, this is not something I have never done before.

The main differences in our boards is that the 3 x16 sized slots on my board share the same PCIe lanes, so that the one on mine that is equivalent to your slot 5 is an x4 slot instead of an x2 slot, but using it would force the one on mine that is equivalent to your slot 4 to drop to x4 speed and my slot 2 to drop to x8, and I have 2 more x1 slots.

The manufacturers use these x16 slots in a shared configuration for implementation of nVidia SLI or AMD CrossFire graphics card setups, where the cards are physically an x16 card, but when installing more than one in a system, the cards electronically divide the 16 PCIe lanes that are normally used for a single graphics card between the two cards, causing each one to operate at x8, or as on my board if 3 cards are in use, x8, x4 and x4
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)

Last edited by BernH; 01-14-2018 at 05:13 PM.
BernH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 11:19 AM   #98
video178
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: AU
Posts: 223
Default

if i plug it to PCIe4 then i get x4 speed, if i plug to PCIe5 then i get x2 speed, for both is it ok? just different speed or i have to plug to PCIe4

Thanks BernH
video178 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 05:06 PM   #99
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by video178 View Post
if i plug it to PCIe4 then i get x4 speed, if i plug to PCIe5 then i get x2 speed, for both is it ok? just different speed or i have to plug to PCIe4

Thanks BernH
The card requires x4 speed to function properly.
From the Blackmagic website:
PCI Express 4 lane, compatible with 4, 8 and 16 lane PCI Express slots.

The x1, x2, x4, x8, x16 ratings for PCIe are the number of parallel data lanes that are required/available. If the card requires x4, why would you think an x2 capable slot would be ok? It may physically fit, but it will not operate correctly, as you are only supplying it with half of the data lanes it needs.

I don't mean this to sound nasty, but all of this information is readily available on the specification pages for your hardware. If you either don't understand this information, or can't be bothered to look it up, you need to listen to the advice and explanations I or others are giving you, and stop fighting us on it.
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intensity Pro 4K fan noise X-trem production EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 34 01-27-2018 06:10 AM
Edius 8 Workgroup & BM Intensity Pro 4K Audio Problem BernH EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 11-18-2015 04:56 PM
BM Intensity Pro 4K? Drbgaijin EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 72 06-24-2015 07:44 AM
BM Intensity Pro 4k Installation trinitytv EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 04-03-2015 03:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.