Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 10:18 AM   #1
iibw
Senior Member
 
iibw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 226
Default Workstation for 5.5, eventually 6

My trusty old workstation is dying, and I need to replace it now. A local integrator made a list for me, please look it over.

1 Western Digital Velociraptor WD6000HLHX 600GB 10000RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5 Internal Hard Drive-Bare Drive

2 Western Digital RE4 WD2003FYYS 2TB 7200RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard drive (raid)

1 Corsair HX Series CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12v 2.2/EPS12v 2.91 SLI Ready Crossfire Ready 80 PLUS Certified

2 Patriot Viper II "Sector 7" Edition 12GB (3x4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model

1 ASUS Rampage III Formula LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

1 Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition Gulftown 3.33GHz LGA 1366 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX8061317980X

2 ATI 100-505511 FireGL V5600 512MB PCI Express x16 Workstation Video cards

I do a lot of AVCHD editing, but some of the above specs seem a bit overkill. Comments?
iibw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:53 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

why two graphics cards?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 03:31 PM   #3
haberhauer
Junior Member
 
haberhauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 14
Default

10000 RPM is quiet fast but also very loud.
There is no hard disk on the market which needs SATA 6.0Gb/s
__________________
Gregor Haberhauer
haberhauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 05:27 PM   #4
iibw
Senior Member
 
iibw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
why two graphics cards?
I asked the same question. He said having two cards via Crossfire makes them work in tandem. Sort of like having dual processors, but with video cards instead. I never heard of this, but apparently it's been popular with high end graphics/animation designers. I have no idea if this setup would work or conflict with Edius.
iibw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 05:39 PM   #5
iibw
Senior Member
 
iibw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haberhauer View Post
10000 RPM is quiet fast but also very loud.
There is no hard disk on the market which needs SATA 6.0Gb/s
All of my past hard drives have been 7200rpm and I've been happy. I never worked with a Velociraptor and also thought it was overkill. What concerns me is if I have that 10K drive spinning, along with 2 video cards, the sound would be quite deafening, I think!

The reason why he gave me those specs is because I gave him a price range of about $4000 that I'm willing to pay for a high performance workstation, and he filled in the rest. Was my price range too high?
iibw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 07:00 PM   #6
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Crossfire (ATI/AMD) and SLI (Nvidia) have both been around for a while, but mainly in the gaming and high-end rendering space.

Being that EDIUS doesn't use DirectCompute or GPU computing except for the GPU effects, I see minimal value in having multiple graphics cards unless you're going to be using other applications that can take advantage of the GPUs.

It's an AWESOME system, no doubt about it, but I think for your purposes it could be it cost-effective and/or you could reconfigure to get more usable stuff for your needs.

I would...
1. Drop the 10K system drive to a 7200 or swap it for a MLC (or preferably SLC) SSD.
2. Add another RAID drive so you can do RAID 3 or RAID 5 for fault-tolerance. We just had a machine here with RAID 0 that lost a drive (and therefore its contents) - remember that fault-tolerance is NOT a substitute for backup. It's just a time-saver to avoid having to restore from backup.
3. Drop the extra graphics card unless you're using something else that can use the GPU power.

...or you could drop your budget a bit and save some money for other things. :)
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:29 AM   #7
iibw
Senior Member
 
iibw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 226
Default

Brandon, mahalo for your valuable input. I agree with your suggestions and will forward them to the integrator.
iibw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 12:54 PM   #8
Fenek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: germany
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
1 ASUS Rampage III Formula LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
I dont will use this "Gaming-Mainboard" ala Rampage in my System
Perhaps try out this one:
Asus "P6T WS Professional"
Can found be here:
http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_I...0Vp&templete=2
one pic:
http://www.asus.de/websites/global/p...K0Vp/P_500.jpg
For the System (only) Harddrive u can try SSD.
__________________
Edius 8, Asus X-99-A, Intel I-7 5820K,
32 GB DDR-4 Ram, GTX 970,
SSD 250 GB, 2x4 TB WD, BR-Writer, 2xDVD-Writer, Servercase, Eizo 27"
Fenek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:17 PM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haberhauer View Post
10000 RPM is quiet fast but also very loud.
Nothing could be further from the truth. They (the 6gbs Raptors) are very quiet, fast and reliable.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:50 AM   #10
iibw
Senior Member
 
iibw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 226
Default

Ok then...if any of you were in my shoes now and needed a workstation for Edius 5.5-6, what configuration would you put together for the biggest bang for the buck AVCHD editing?
iibw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new workstation kikillo Editing with EDIUS 22 04-21-2008 01:32 PM
Workstation for Procoder 3 totalfreedom ProCoder 5 03-16-2008 06:07 PM
New NX Workstation... LightPrism Editing with EDIUS 17 02-04-2008 10:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.