Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2009, 10:33 PM   #1
hlips
Member
 
hlips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: netherlands
Posts: 51
Default sharpness Edius Monitor

Dear Edepts,
Does anyone have an explanation for the fact that the picture in the Edius monitor seems to be less focused than on a TV Screen?
hlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 11:45 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

is Edius overlay set to direct draw or 3D?

got a good graphics card?

what is your Edius monitor, model number?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:26 AM   #3
xtz_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 103
Default

Or maybe you using too big Edius player window if your project is SD?
__________________
Gintaras
Edius 8.5/ 5.51, Panasonic hc-x1, Canon 5d3, Canon 550, JVC GZ-GX1 www.gintarasmockus.lt
i7 3770k, 8 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, Geforce GTX 650 2 GB, 120 GB SSD, 21 TB HDD, Win 7 HP 64
xtz_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:10 AM   #4
hlips
Member
 
hlips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: netherlands
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
is Edius overlay set to direct draw or 3D?

got a good graphics card?

what is your Edius monitor, model number?
Can you tell me what the difference is between direct draw or 3D?
The other option is field or frame. Again, which is best for sharpness.
graphics card is VGA ASUS 9600GT and monitors SamsungTFT20"T200
hlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:52 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

3D = overlay generated by the graphics card

direct draw = overlay generated by the PC processor (not as good)

update period field = what you should use

update period frame = looks very funny with ghosting and watery look during movement, I have no idea why to use this?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:37 PM   #6
mattmatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

Anton, is that true for progressive projects too? Doesn't sound right to use fields when there aren't any....
__________________
When I go out, I wear my EDIUS T-Shirt.
mattmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:50 PM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmatt View Post
Anton, is that true for progressive projects too? Doesn't sound right to use fields when there aren't any....
I suppose progressive is a different story, I don't have any such files to test

I can switch my XDCAM HD camera to progressive mode, however the result looks like flicker vision (like going to cinema), so I don't use progressive
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 03:58 AM   #8
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
the result looks like flicker vision (like going to cinema), so I don't use progressive
Until today I still don't get the hype about progressive / film look footage.
What's so great about that ..............
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:07 PM   #9
rone
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: warsop.uk
Posts: 60
Default

If you don't get it then you probably don't need convincing.

It's project dependent - like all visual elements the decision to give a production a certain look is one that can be enabled with lighting, camera angles, location, in-camera settings, post-production etc. Progressive adds its name amongst these and re-creates the juddery motion of film (assuming a low framerate), and that implies a certain look.

For instance we shoot most docs in progressive, it's higher quality than interlace for a start and gives a timeless feel to the piece whilst embossing that film feel.

Also interlace is a restriction that harks back to the old days of making maximum use of broadcasting bandwidth - and comes with its own artefacts - that do not come with progressive.

Don't forget using higher framerates of progressive yields the best of both worlds in terms of temporal and spacial resolution - but that needs bandwidth.

(There are no fields in the native editing domain using 24/25p - however for output to a PAL or NTSC system fields are relevent - but not for editing.) Edius sorts all that out anyway.

Last edited by rone; 03-10-2009 at 05:12 PM.
rone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #10
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

This thread is going off topic (as per usual) but when you talk about progressive you really need to know if you are using the low frame rates 24/25/30p or higher rates 50/60p

the low rates are what gives the flicker film look.

The 50/60p should be flicker free and give the best 'normal' results -

I now use 50p mode all the time on my Sony EX1 as it gives the best smooth motion pictures for progressive displays ~ (plus also is also the best format for downconversion to DVD in SD as 50/60i would be de-interlaced in Edius 1st before getting re-interlaced at DVD frame size - can produce lots of jaggies)
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.