Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 01:45 PM   #11
pegase64
Member
 
pegase64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 66
Default

Another link to complete this thread :

http://endlesspicnic.com/blog/2011/1...code-canon-5d/

It's relative to FCP but, may be, Edius will integrate ability to read LTC in audio tracks. AuxLTC reader is, may be, another solution :

http://www.videotoolshed.com/product/26/auxtc-reader

Pierre
__________________
Pierre Néel

Intel i7.3770k @ 4.2 GHz - Asus P8Z77 Pro - 8 GB DDR3 2133 MHz - Nvidia GTX 670 - HD Spark - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits - Edius 6.55 - Edius Neo 2.5 Booster
pegase64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 03:31 PM   #12
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 130
Default

Thanks everyone for the tips. Would be really get for Edius to add this feature! Given the number of people who are shooting with non-timecode cameras (e.g., Blackmagic, DSLRs, Canon C100), would be a really useful feature, especially since Plural Eyes no longer works with Edius 7.

Is there a way to put this in as a feature request to Grass Valley?
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:13 AM   #13
Jim N
Senior Member
 
Jim N's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 433
Default

This is an old thread but same problem. I'm looking at a method of synchronisation of multiple video recordings using LTC on one of the audio tracks of each camera. Can edius do this now?
Jim N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 10:10 AM   #14
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,786
Default

You are probably better off using a digislate - as we all used to in the "old" days.

There's also loads of apps that provide timecode across wifi, audio timecode readers and so on.

Just run something like Timecode Buddy or Timecode Toolbox on you phone and shoot a few frames to pick up a visual cue on all your cams - LTC is always a bit random as it bears no relation to start frame times - unless your timecode source is sync locked and so are all your cameras - only real broadcast cams have black and busrt input for syncing anyway -

Easiest way out is to buy cameras with timecode and userbits - so many DSLR's have no such thing, makes them a bit crap for event work.

The cheapest decent 4K little camcorder with full timecode and userbits must be the Sony AX53 - and you can kick off the code with a remote start to multiple camcorders - even then your frame start points will never coincide as the cameras are not externally locked.

All in all it's a manual sync job to some extent unless you get your wallet out and spend some dollar.

Edius doesn't even allow "insert to identical timecode" as in, time of day on all your cameras and a time of day timeline, Edius should be able to drop all your files at the matching points on the timeline, would save a lot of fannying about. They'll never do it as news crews are almost always one operator and one camera.

Have fun!

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 03:08 PM   #15
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTV View Post
Y

Edius doesn't even allow "insert to identical timecode" as in, time of day on all your cameras and a time of day timeline, Edius should be able to drop all your files at the matching points on the timeline, would save a lot of fannying about. They'll never do it as news crews are almost always one operator and one camera.

Have fun!

Paul :-)

You can set you time of day in at camcorder level and EDIUS will sync.
Also you can add a marker at the same moment in Time and EDIUS will sync your clips to that marker.
Attached Images
File Type: png multicam.png (39.4 KB, 17 views)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:57 PM   #16
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,786
Default

aah but not in my ancient 7.5 Edius copy Steve!!

Good to know it's there if I ever upgrade!

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio in multicam timecode sync skimmel Editing with EDIUS 7 05-16-2013 01:23 PM
how to get rid of audio/timecode meters jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 6 04-26-2011 04:01 PM
Books for reading on DVD adspencer Editing with EDIUS 5 04-05-2009 02:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.