Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2018, 05:58 AM   #11
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dano3655 View Post
I think the problem I am having is the clips are stacked V1 and V2 on top of each other in multi cam. From what I saw in Anton's video (thank you sir) they need to be next to each other...not stacked....

Dano
If they are stacked in a multicam and both are active (no muted segments from the multicam edit), only the top layer is visible so there is no need to correct the bottom layer. You are actually better off muting the bottom clip to improve playback performance since you can't see it, but Edius is still processing it. This is what multicam does for you.

However, if you really do need to see the top and bottom layer at the same time in order to correct because both are going to be visible during some kind of effect, you can do a layouter crop on the top layer. It will reveal the bottom one so you can make the correction.
__________________
Edius WG 9.31.4196, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 08:32 AM   #12
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dano3655 View Post
I think the problem I am having is the clips are stacked V1 and V2 on top of each other in multi cam. From what I saw in Anton's video (thank you sir) they need to be next to each other...not stacked....

Dano
you need to watch my video again, they are not next to each other, they are stacked in multicam

I am sampling the clip on V1 and adjusting the clip on V2, of course EDIUS needs to see the clip on V1, watch video
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 03:37 PM   #13
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,654
Default

The way I do my starting balance is after I have the clips synced in the timeline. I have the waveform and vectorscopes open and toggle/mute the clips one at a time and look at the scopes. I make quick corrections with PCC to get them close for my eyes. Then I start to edit multicam. After a few minutes I look to see if the match is reasonable and make some corrections as needed. If a consistent change I apply to the remainder of the clips not yet edited. As I mentioned before the balance will change between the cameras so one setting will not work for a long period of time. In a 2 hour theatre show I can expect all cameras to change with different scene lighting so I do not spend a lot of time on the first balance as I know I will have to correct as I go through the edit anyway. The GH5 and GH5S stay close but they are not the same and sometimes the AX100 is very different needing the colour wheel to bring into alignment with the others. So when correcting I may disable my first PCC application and go with YUV, colour wheel, etc as a better correction for that particular scene/clip used.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 03:25 PM   #14
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,344
Default

I use the eyeball method in 3 way CC. After I sync my cameras I make copies of a section of clips, cut them at a certain point and put all of these clips on one track. I then use the filter with the eyeball to match.

I have always thought the clips had to be on the same track. I did not watch Anton's video so maybe there is a way.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX670 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 05:52 PM   #15
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
I use the eyeball method in 3 way CC. After I sync my cameras I make copies of a section of clips, cut them at a certain point and put all of these clips on one track. I then use the filter with the eyeball to match.

I have always thought the clips had to be on the same track. I did not watch Anton's video so maybe there is a way.
The eyeball just grabs a reference frame based on what is visible in the player viewer, so no the clips don't have to be on the same track, they just have to be visible.
__________________
Edius WG 9.31.4196, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:39 PM   #16
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,654
Default

The value of syncing clips first and then do a mute (of the stacked clips) is the image is that of the cameras capturing the same scene and the correction is more likely to reflect the camera differences. As I mentioned though they will not stay as the project progresses even if the cameras are the same manufacturer. I have done these multicams for a long time now with lots of different cameras ( in my case of course they are consumer or prosumer models with the odd one a rented pro camera ). Having the scopes open when you do this gives you visual indications of any clear hue differences requiring a minor shift for PCC or use of the colour wheel . I often start with PCC and then in the end cancel and use YUV, 3 way colour and colour wheel to fine tune !!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 11:20 PM   #17
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 640
Default

Mark the dual screen. Take the still image from the reference clip. Click the still in Bin (it will show on Player preview). This is the best way for me.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matching different Cameras lauri Editing with EDIUS 9 07-20-2014 09:45 AM
Camera matching AevnsGrandpa Editing with EDIUS 2 04-10-2014 07:15 PM
Still Image not matching DIGITALPOST Editing with EDIUS 16 07-07-2010 11:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.