Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2008, 01:59 AM   #1
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default A/B Editing vs Insert Editing

I notice in the Feature Requests section a request for a feature to "Auto adjust track-to-track transition length" and the Moderator notes:
[BH] ... While EDIUS supports some aspects of A/B editing, it is not designed as an A/B editor....

I wonder how many users prefer A/B to Insert and what gets used the most, and why? Comments welcomed!

Trevor
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 02:15 AM   #2
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Most, if not all, NLE's have moved away from A/B editing into single track editing. It is much better in my opinion and I could never go back.

You could do A/B editing in EDIUS, but you're better off doing everything on a single track and if you need to add in b-roll (even with transitions, you can use the keyer track to add transitions) just use a V or AV track above the single track of the main edited project.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 04:51 AM   #3
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

I have to admit that when I first started using single track editing it was a little strange to me but like Dave I would never go back :)

Some reasons... trimming seems more logical and easier now.

Transitions now seem easier to work with.

Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 03:37 PM   #4
LightPrism
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe and Los Angeles
Posts: 46
Default

Single track editing gives you so much more real estate over A/B. That really helps when you start having a multi-track composite with lots of titles and audio tracks.

Single track is also easier to stay organized.

And can you imagine multi-camera with A/B!
LightPrism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:55 AM   #5
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_MD View Post
I have to admit that when I first started using single track editing it was a little strange to me but like Dave I would never go back :)
Same here that was my first dislike of Edius, but please don't change it is just great, took less than a day for the concept to sink in
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:23 PM   #6
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

But a LOT of the NLE world is still geared/focused on A/B editing. How many times do we get questions like "how many layers/tracks can you edit in realtime?" I get that one every day and twice on Sunday. It makes me wonder just how many users of other NLEs and just NLE users in general do what. It would make an interesting study.

I couldn't agree more that single track editing is so much easier and easier to wrap your mind around, especially when dealing with transitions.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:47 PM   #7
muleferg
Senior Member
 
muleferg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: north wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STORMDAVE View Post
Most, if not all, NLE's have moved away from A/B editing into single track editing. It is much better in my opinion and I could never go back.

You could do A/B editing in EDIUS, but you're better off doing everything on a single track and if you need to add in b-roll (even with transitions, you can use the keyer track to add transitions) just use a V or AV track above the single track of the main edited project.


This is my choice.
Mule Ferguson
muleferg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 03:16 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

I like AB type editing, it is so easy to fine tune multi layer projects after the basic edit is done
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/a...ualmonitor.jpg
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:06 PM   #9
chec
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tampa
Posts: 53
Default

I just got this software and am migrating from Premiere 6.5

How/what menu do I use to enable A/B editing in version 5?

Thanks, chec@cox.net
chec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:16 PM   #10
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chec View Post
I just got this software and am migrating from Premiere 6.5

How/what menu do I use to enable A/B editing in version 5?

Thanks, chec@cox.net
There is no menu or anything different that you have to do. Simply place one clip on one video track and another clip on another video track. You can dissolve between the 2 if you like.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm new to video editing and need advice on which system to go with and why. keyzone72 Editing with EDIUS 10 05-23-2009 03:51 AM
Odd Insert Edit Behaviour in Edius Edipus Rex Editing with EDIUS 7 05-11-2007 10:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.