Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
ntbone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 262
Unhappy Plural Eyes 3.2

Plural Eyes 3.2 for Windows was finally released.

http://www.redgiant.com/blog/tag/pluraleyes/

The bad news is that EDIUS is only supported as an external application.

What this means?

You can sync any # of audio tracks with only ONE video track and you then need to export all the audio and painfully import each of the pieces into EDIUS and manually match them up.

I have been using Plural Eyes 2 with EDIUS for a very long time. It works miracles on synchronizing and I work with tap dancers who are extremely critical of audio synchronization of videos. I have used it to synchronize 2 audio recorders with 10 tracks total along side 4 video feeds. There is no way I can use Plural Eyes 3.2 in the generic mode.

I have attempted to export the Final Cut Pro XML that is under the Premiere options but that XML currently will not import into EDIUS. I am working with tech support on an issue with crashes, but even when I try to import it without crashes, EDIUS fails to read it in.

If you use Plural Eyes, you need to reach out to Red Giant and get them to support this application on some capacity beyond the generic method.
ntbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:11 PM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

So sorry to hear Red Giant has botched this so completely. So unbelievable that they would leave 9 out of 10 editors dangling for over a year while the 1 in 10 have a built-in sync feature. Too bad Singular sold out when they did. They were SOOO much more responsive in the past.
:~[
I guess you'll be better at sync by eye now.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:25 PM   #3
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Just do it manually, Use node in audio and video track to mark the start of the beat, once you get a hold of it, it will be faster than plural eyes, don't sweat it.
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
ntbone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 262
Unhappy

Khoi Pham, perhaps that method works for you but as I said in my initial post

4 cameras, all recording a live event without the pleasure of clappers or other methods for syncing in which the cameras are recording variable amounts of footage at various times mixed with 2 audio recorders capturing the audio. An sort of manual method of syncing would take way too long. I have recorded a lot of events using Plural Eyes to sync my cameras to audio recorders and to each other.

It is definitely sad that Plural Eyes 3 is not turning out so well.
ntbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:49 PM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,060
Default

I record theatre and dance with 4 cameras and have no problems syncing them up. Just let them run for the whole event, don't stop any of them. Same with the separate audio recorders. If your are using tape I can see an issue of tape changing for a long event but with file based then they just run. All mine are AVCHD and they will all run for over 6 hours, battery or memory. Makes life so much easier.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:13 PM   #6
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,453
Default

Drift is more of an issue than just syncing them, especially with the external recorders. Live timecode sync is your friend but only SDI level cameras have this connection.

Plural Eyes does not account for drift so even if you sync them up they might (will) wander over time.

When I shoot multicamera I try to have one camera record the live sound and the direct feed from the board. The rest of the cameras would only have backup audio. I then sync all other footage to the main camera.

If you are using an external recorder, try to use a word clock digital time piece to sync the recorder to the video rate. Also, run a line out of the recorder into a camera to record as a reference track to match the video camera record speed.

Plural Eyes is more for taking audio from many takes and syncing it with the scratch audio from the video. A narrative workflow. Not so much a live event situation.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:48 PM   #7
turnstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 180
Default

I actually came to Edius because I was in the PluralEyes Beta.

I was previously using Sony's NLE, and I didn't like the task of aligning video to audio, so I was considering PluralEyes.

The Beta seemed rather sloppy (imho), but I was impressed by several people asking for better Edius support, so I looked more into Edius.

Now that I'm using Edius, I find the alignment task much less of a chore than it was with Sony. OTOH, Sony lets you move audio clips at sub-frame distances, which is certainly potentially more accurate -- but getting within a half-frame seems to work fine, and gets the job done quicker.
turnstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:55 PM   #8
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,809
Default

Not to get too OT, but you can do subframe adjustment in EDIUS also, but without visual confirmation it is a bit tougher.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080ti SC Black, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 04:00 PM   #9
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,411
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
Not to get too OT, but you can do subframe adjustment in EDIUS also, but without visual confirmation it is a bit tougher.
But we all agree that with its current implementation (guessing game) it's not usable when in a rush.

Maybe a simple overhaul to just work as nudging clips frame by frame would do edius audio a lot of good :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:32 PM   #10
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
Not to get too OT, but you can do subframe adjustment in EDIUS also, but without visual confirmation it is a bit tougher.
Without being able to see what is happening and also squeeze or stretch audio for clock correction it is not useful.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it only me having problems with Plural Eyes? John Hooper EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 22 10-04-2011 02:37 PM
edius and plural eyes mhar_you Editing with EDIUS 9 07-07-2011 01:41 AM
Plural Eyes for Edius Philip EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 21 05-17-2011 02:32 PM
Plural Eyes pjsssss EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 1 04-19-2011 01:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.